Christmas Brunch At The Atlantis …

So the main part of our Christmas Day Celebrations after the Present Opening … was Brunch at Saffron, Atlantis … after waiting a while we finally caught a taxi and got there early enough to have a little wander round the hotel to show my mum around before we headed to the restaurant …

_MG_7721-1 _MG_7728-1 _MG_7732-1 IMG_0730-1 _MG_7742-1 _MG_7744-1 _MG_7765-1There was this Tree of Hope with a bunch of messages on it from children to Santa … the one below was my particular favourite …

_MG_7767-1On our way to Saffron we walked past the Atlantis Festive Gingerbread Shop … the walls and everything was made up of Gingerbread bricks … the amount of Gingerbread and Icing used was rediculous …

_MG_7781-1 _MG_7783-1 _MG_7784-1Once at the restaurant and having been shown to the table none of us wasted any time really before going to get some food … we had been to this particular brunch a couple times before … but on this occasion it was incredibly festive …

_MG_7788-1 _MG_7794-1Gingerbread houses lining the desert station … my brother asked if we could take one to the table and got a rather odd look from the waitor …

_MG_7791-1 _MG_7797-1 _MG_7800-1As we were making our way round to the roast Turkey one of the Chefs approached me to wish me a Merry Christmas … he also mentioned that he recognised me from the last time I had been there … its probably a sign that we’ve been here too much …

_MG_7799-1 _MG_7803-1 _MG_7804-1 _MG_7806-1All of us started with the traditional Roast Turkey and trimmings … although I managed to squeeze a few other things on my plate too … we were all busy eating and about half way through our first plate noticed my mum hadn’t come back yet … last time I’d seen her she was walking around with a full plate … and just as I was about to go looking for her she showed up with two plates of food … clearly she was too excited by all the options and rather than finish one plate and go back again she just grabbed two …

_MG_7810-1

_MG_7812-1 _MG_7814-1 _MG_7818-1 _MG_7820-1I also bumped into Santa on my way round the food stations …

_MG_7826-1

_MG_7835-1 _MG_7842-1 _MG_7845-1 _MG_7849-1My Mum was loving the watermelon cocktail …

_MG_7853-1 IMG_0757-1 IMG_0759-1_MG_7875-1 _MG_7877-1She also made the most of the Seafood on offer …

_MG_7872-1 _MG_7901-1 IMG_0762-1My brother went abit crazy over the desserts … although I have to say they were as yummy as always … and incredibly decadent …

IMG_0785-1 _MG_7880-1My Mum’s jaw was aching after eating so much …

_MG_7895-1Other tables were getting quite loud and people kept bursting into song singing christmas carols … generally it was an incredibly Christmassy atmosphere … the Brunch was coming to an end when a couple of guys on the table next to us pulled their trousers down to reveal their Christmas undies … everyone cheered, whisteled and clapped … then security came over and everyone booed … the security guy ended up just giving the guys a pat on the back and everyone cheered again … it was almost like being at the panto …

IMG_0787-1 _MG_7924-1My brother missed this rather impromptu bit of entertainment … he was busy outside doing his painting … and as usual with my brother he had left it to the last 10mins of the brunch to start … just when the staff wanted to clear up … but he did it …

_MG_7938-1 _MG_7952-1We rounded off the day with a wander down to Nassimi beach for a few photos in the afternoon light …

_MG_7966-1 _MG_7980-1Beds on the beach anyone? its surprisingly common here …

_MG_7970-1 _MG_7972-1 _MG_7976-1_MG_7982-1Back home in the evening we skyped both families back in the UK … Perry’s parents place sounded very busy … they had 12 people round including a couple of little ones too … Then we skyped my Aunt’s house where my dad was for Christmas dinner … my Aunt had decided that they were going to have roast duck and leg of lamb for christmas as she makes turkey all the time throughout the year … and said she was bored of it …

It was great to speak with everyone and see them all through Skype … we had an incredibly decadent day with so much food and drink that none of us even thought about eating anything for dinner …

Hope everyone else had a wonderful Christmas surrounded by family, friends and loved ones …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a comment