Monday Links For The Week … Random Stuff From The Internet …

Hello everyone … hope your all having a good start to your week … we had a very lovely weekend which turned out to be abit busier than I’d expected but we still had time to relax so it was all good as far as I was concerned …

One evening while we were out at Mall of the Emirates and in one of the book stores I saw this book …

photo 1I was a little bit surprised … its a massive coffee table style book (also really heavy) of 1001 walks you can do around Britain … I was really struggling to understand how there could be a demand for a book like this in Dubai … The only thing I could think of was if someone wanted the book for the pictures … but other than that it did seem like an odd one to see on the shelves … it’s not like it was a massive book shop either!

Anyway … I will get back to the point of this post … below are a bunch of links to stuff I’ve been enjoying these last few days … I’ve thrown in a couple of videos too that I thought you many enjoy … feel free to add any suggestions in the comments section …

  1. 27 WAYS TO MAKE YOUR GROCERIES LAST AS LONG AS POSSIBLE … considering how quickly fresh produce goes off here (even if stored in the fridge properly) this has a few good tips worth taking note of … I’ll definitely be trying a few myself …
  2. THE WEATHER IS GREAT UP HERE … As one of the tallest people in my class since about the age of 14 I used to always get asked the question ‘Hows the weather up there?’ by the other children in my class … so I can totally relate to this T-shirt …
  3. HOW TO TURN YOUR BACKYARD INTO A FOUR SEASON FARM … If we had a garden (in a country more hospitable to growing veg) I’d try this …
  4. FIRST TASTE … super cute … so adorable some of the reactions of these kids …
  5. RAS AL KHAIMAH PLANS WINTER SKI RESORT … I seriously think this must some sort of joke … but considering this is the UAE I can never be too sure …
  6. 10 THINGS MOST AMERICANS DON’T KNOW ABOUT AMERICA … Some interesting points … I’m not sure I totally agree with everything this guy is saying but I understand the sentiment he is trying to get across … which I do somewhat agree with …
  7. IMAGES FROM INSIDE THE WRECKAGE OF CAR CRASHES … No blood or gore in these images … but still incredibly thought provoking … especially since a close relative of mine has recently been involved in a serious car accident (thankfully he is ok and will make a full recovery) … it really does bring home the whole issue of road safety …
  8. GOODIE GOODNESS … This company curate and put together a monthly box of handmade goodies to be sent to your door … you just sign up to their monthly subscription … sounds like fun … and a nice way to treat yourself to a little surprise for not too much money either … if I were still in the UK I’d probably sign up for a few months …
  9. ADOBE ABANDONS CREATIVE SUITE FOR CREATIVE CLOUD … Did anyone else kind of feel like this came out of nowhere? … Anyway the reaction has been kind of mixed so far and I can see the justifications Adobe have of going with this option, I just don’t really like the fact that they have taken all other options off the table in the process …
  10. LANDSCAPES: VOLUME 2 … stunning images edited and put together to create this lovely video …
  11. CORIANDER (CILANTRO) SALAD RECIPE … this just sounds delicious …
  12. TIPPI OF AFRICA … love these images and the story sounds pretty idyllic too …
  13. NOT JUST A GIRL … A photographer mother was looking for ideas as to what to do for her daughters 5 year old portraits … I think she did a great job with it and love the results … something really different from the usual stuff …
  14. BACKSTAGE RIDERS FROM FAMOUS BANDS VISUALISED … Quite an interesting series of images I thought …
  15. A PICTURE OF THE EARTH THROUGH TIME … Compiled by the people at google … worth a look … oh and Dubai is on there too …
  16. A DELIGHTFULLY SILLY MASHUP OF PETS AND THEIR OWNERS … this just made me laugh …
  17. THE SIMPLE GIBSON TUCK … Love this hairstyle and it looks really simple … will have to give it a try on my hair now that its getting longer …

That is it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a comment