Weekly Roundups … The last few weeks …

img_2260Its been a while! Almost a month actually since I last updated this blog … honestly it just feels like there isn’t enough time in the day to get everything done and then add to that all the fatigue I’ve been feeling with this pregnancy and my productive time is significantly reduced even more!

Anyway here is a little update on some of the things we’ve been up to lately …

img_2108-1

I knit up a little jumper for the little nugget …

img_2113-1

Getting to work on block placements for my Pinwheel Scrap Blanket …

img_2125-1

I ended up turning the jumper into a cardigan by steeking down the centre … it was the first time I did this and I was pretty happy with the finished results.

img_2133-1

15 weeks and 3 days baby bump picture … it was nice to start having a more noticeable bump that looked like a baby bump rather than looking as if I’d just eaten a bit too much!

img_2138-1

Podcast went up as per usual …

img_2142-1

Picked out the yarn for my next baby knit …

img_2161-1

I whipped up this super quick Gramps cardigan for the nugget … its so much fun and I loved pairing the bright colours together for this one …

img_2167-1

I actually ended up filming the process of steeking the baby cardigan I mentioned earlier in the podcast so that video is also up on youtube …

img_2187-1

Morning snuggles with Derek are still the best part of waking up each day …

img_2206-1

Hugo keeping me company while I podcast … is also now a regular occurrence …

img_2209-1

And again the podcast went up at its usual time … although a little later in the day than planned …

img_2213-1

Sometimes I get lucky and get evening bed time snuggles with Derek as well as morning snuggles … no complaining here!

img_2218-1

I’ve always wanted to give quilting a go so started out with this simple 5″ square pattern for a little baby quilt for the nugget … I love bright rainbow colours so thought this would be a really fun baby quilt for the little one to lay/play on …

img_2220-1

Working on some new designs …

img_2226

More morning snuggles with Derek …

img_2232

When Perry got back from his most recent trip to the USA he brought a little gift for the nugget … a superman bib with attached cape … I thought it was super cute and since its going to be a while before the baby can wear it I thought I’d give it a go on Derek … he was not best pleased and ripped it off as he ran away (the bib is fine it attaches to the cape with velcro).

img_2236

My Mum sent me this picture of her hand knit sock cubby …

img_2111-1

Seriously cannot get enough of the morning snuggles with this one …

img_2240

Another lovely thing that happened when Perry got back was he made me pancakes! I’d been craving pancakes for about a week before he got back but at the same time I didn’t want to make them myself … so I went without until he got home and could make them for me!

img_2245

We then went out for breakfast the next day and I got more pancakes …

img_2249

I started working on some more baby knits … this one ended up being a baby cocoon and matching hat set to be used mostly for photo props once the baby is here …

img_2260

Spent some time early last week and finished off the baby quilt … really love how it turned out and ended up using some fabric scraps from my Aunt to back it with …

img_2273

I made a make shift lazy kate device used by spinners for plying their hand spun yarns and finished off the half bag of Corridale yarn I was working on … it worked a treat and did the job perfectly …

img_2279

I don’t do selfies very often but when I try to take one with Hugo I get the distinct impression he is judging me!

img_2287

17 weeks and 3 day baby bump picture … I doesn’t feel like I’m much bigger yet but people are starting to notice when we are out and about …

img_2292

Whilst I was waiting for the podcast to upload last week Perry and I popped out for some lunch at a nearby cafe and hung out with the resident stray …

img_2293

Podcast went up again as usual … this time Hugo was my reluctant baby knit wear model … it looks like he wants to kill me but I assure you he was fine … although he didn’t hang around much after this!

img_2325

We popped over to Dubai this weekend to hang out with friends and just have a little break away together … we went to brunch with our friends and their kids which was great fun … Perry got to practice his baby wrangling skills …

img_2339

I spent Saturday at the Lime Tree Cafe (an old favourite place of mine in Dubai) with my old knit group who were having a meetup that day … it was a lovely day spent catching up with friends and I even managed to finish these pair of socks …

img_2349

The boys were well cared for while we were away … although we did something really silly and accidentally locked our petsitter out of the house … a long story short in the end it was ok and the security guard in our compound was able to open one of our windows to get inside …

img_2357

At the airport while waiting to come home Perry spotted this Emirati guy hanging out with his Falcon waiting for their flight … a little known fact is that some of the Middle East airlines will let you take your Falcon on board as your personal item … the Falcon is the National Bird in the UAE and some of the other GCC countries … and Falconry in general is a very popular sport/activity amongst the locals here … although we knew these things this was the first time in 5 years we’ve been living in this region that I’ve ever actually seen someone with their falcon at the airport!

img_2365

So while this weekend was not the best for us in terms of organisation (blaming baby brain for this one) it was great for knitting productivity …

That is it for this post … hopefully it won’t be this long before I post another update!

Till next time …

Take Care …

Mina X

6 thoughts on “Weekly Roundups … The last few weeks …

  1. Loved your weekly recap! Especially loved the photo of the falcon. I had a friend who maintained and hunted a falcon here in the US. What magnificent birds. Hope you are enjoying your early pregnancy. Terry (TJMo on Ravelry)

Leave a Reply

