Weekly Roundup … Summer Coming To A Close …

img_2074Well its been another long break in posting around here and I guess its just been a really busy summer … I don’t think I fully realised quite how busy I was going to be these last few weeks … and to add to all of that Perry and I have some big news to share too … well if you follow me on Instagram or Facebook you will already know but if not … We are expecting our first child early next year and we couldn’t be more thrilled by this development … I’m currently 15 weeks pregnant and so far its been going pretty well … I’ll probably pop back in in a while (or when I remember) to do an update on how the pregnancy has been going but for now I’ll just leave it at that …

Here is a quick little recap of the last few weeks and what we’ve been up to …

img_1444-1

Finished up a pair of short socks … I hadn’t knit a pair of short socks in a long time so wanted to give them another go!

img_1478-1

Perry and I took a few days and headed off to Finland for a quick city break in Helsinki … we started our trip with a good old nap!

img_1497-1

We wandered around one of the main market places in central Helsinki and I stumbled across this stall that sold locally produced and naturally dyed yarn … so of course some of that had to come home with me …

img_1500-1

We ate a couple times at the restaurant next door to the building where we were staying … they had this amazing meatball dish that was just delicious … kind of like those Ikea meatballs but so much better!

img_1510-1

I had pre-recorded a podcast episode to go live while we were away so that also went up!

img_1516-1

There were lots of adorable coffee shops around town too … I loved the glasses they used in this place for serving their hot drinks …

img_1519-1

Waiting to leave on a ferry … it was a little windy!

img_1535-1

Can’t go to a new country and not sample some of the local snacks … The liquorice is all for Perry I am not a fan of that stuff at all!

img_1536-1

Views from the harbour …

img_1539-1

I started another pair of rainbow themed socks on the flight back from Helsinki …

img_1541-1

Waiting to get through security at Heathrow!

img_1546-1

Some delicious yarn showed up at my parents after a lot more hassle than was really necessary but this yarn is amazing and was destined for some design work …

img_1561-1

Which I got started on right away!

img_1570-1

Perry left to go back to Bahrain the day after we got back from Finland and he sent me these pictures of the boys when he got home …

img_1586

I spent a weekend down in Brighton with my girlfriends for a hen/bachelorette party … it was a lovely couple days and the weather was wonderful!

img_1588

We had planned to take a boat trip but then the boat had engine trouble so we ended up just having a few drinks on the boat in the marina before heading back to the house …

img_1595

Knitting on the beach … of course …

img_1601

I did have some down time while in Brighton and put together my vlog from our trip to Helsinki …

img_1779

I also managed to get a regular podcast episode up on time too!

img_1789

My parents home looks like its basically being completely rebuilt from the back but its not half as bad as it looks!

img_1793

I ended up going to see a film at the open air cinema in Somerset House with some friends which turned out to be a really bad idea … the film was great and even though I remembered to take all the warm woollen knits to keep warm on top I totally forgot to take any socks! But the worst part was how much pain my back was in after the film finished … it was horrible but thankfully it didn’t put me out as badly as I had worried it might …

img_1797

We ended up seeing Captain Fantastic which was a great film too!

img_1821

I released some sneak peaks at the patterns I’d been designing for the lovely ladies at Post Stitch which is a knitting subscription box … these were super fun designs to come up with and I’m so excited for them to finally become available soon …

img_1833

I started another pair of design socks which came out great in the end but I’m surprised at how drastically different the two ends of the skein turned out to be …

img_1880

Spotted this card while out with my Mum and it perfectly depicts our lives at the moment!

img_1979

The last Saturday I was in the UK one of my best friends had her wedding day and it was such a wonderful day … I was also asked to be her wedding photographer which was great and it thankfully it all went pretty well … it was really quite hectic and busy but the bride was very relaxed herself which made it easier for everyone else involved too …

img_2014-1

On Monday last week I finally got my act together and published my Second collection of sock patterns under the Beyond Vanilla Socks banner …

img_2026

I woke up on my last day in London to bright blue skies … sunshine and scorching weather … not a bad way to spend the last day …

img_2033

I treated myself to another 99 with flake ice cream too before having to get ready to leave for the airport …

img_2038

Perry was super sweet and a couple days before my flight he called to let me know he had managed to use some of his leftover points with Emirates to upgrade my flight from economy to Business class … which I was so grateful for … knowing how bad my back had been since getting to the UK it was wonderful to know that the biggest portion of my flying time would be in a fully adjustable seat with plenty of space! I started out the trip by having to spend over 5 hours in the Emirates lounge because our flight was so delayed! Thankfully the food there is great and the lounge was pretty quiet …

img_2041

Our plane finally showed up 40mins after we were originally supposed to leave …

img_2047

On the plane eventually and hoping that we will make it in time to catch my connection …

img_2052-1

Luckily they held the connecting flight just long enough so I did manage to catch it … although I could have done without all the running around …

img_2054-1

I got to Bahrain airport only to find my bags never made the connection and were still in Dubai …

img_2061

We ended up making another trip back to the airport to pick up my bags later that evening after we had gone out for dinner …

img_2064-1

We spent this past Wednesday night at home watching the start of the new season of Great British Bake Off and hanging out with the boys …

img_2074

On Thursday morning I had an appointment to see my Dr to catch up after I had been away all summer and to get another scan done … after which we came home to make the announcement online to let everyone know we were expecting a little one soon … the reaction has so far been overwhelmingly positive and we are so grateful for everyones love and support …

img_2081-1

Friday night I had to drop Perry off at the airport again as he is now off in New York for the next couple weeks for classes … so its just me … the boys and baby bump till he gets home …

img_2084

Hugo thinks he is hiding … but I don’t think he fully understands quite how big he really is!

Thank you everyone for tuning in … hoping to keep these posts a bit more regular going forward!

Till next time …

Take care …

Mina X

4 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup … Summer Coming To A Close …

  1. Hi, Mina, and again hearty Congratulations on baby. Just had to ask – the meatball dish in Helsinki – looks like it was served with mashed potatoes? Looks wonderful, btw! And what are Ikea meatballs?

  2. Congratulations on the baby! As fast as you knit, I imagine you can whip up a knitted wardrobe in no time at all. Thanks for sharing your life with us.

Leave a Reply

