Weekly Roundup – London & A Knitting Retreat …

img_8849Hey everyone … so I finally got back to my Parents home a few hours ago and have caught up with a bunch of messages and work emails I had to get through before I could sit and relax!

I’m going to keep this super quick … I need to sleep cause we have an early flight to Rome tomorrow!

img_8804

Last week I posted my How I Knit video to Youtube …

img_8821

We spent Sunday at my Aunt’s home celebrating my Brothers birthday …

img_8824

I packed my bags ready for the knitting retreat …

img_8829

Spotted this funny advert featuring someone knitting on the underground on my way into Euston station to catch my train to the retreat …

img_8843

Once there we had lots of fun getting settled in to our rooms and getting to know each other that first afternoon/evening …

img_8849

The next morning it was fun to see how my knitting matched my breakfast …

img_8851

The theme of eating and knitting carried on the rest of the day with a late morning tea and cake break while knitting more heels …

img_8859

Fixed a hole my brother managed to make in one of his socks …

img_8865

Lots of time spent knitting and chattering away with fellow fibre enthusiasts …

img_8868

I even got a little spinning lesson and actually made something resembling yarn!

img_8877

We had a lovely little mini market place on the Tuesday afternoon where a few of us had brought some goodies to sell …

img_8880

That evening we all sat round in the living room chattering about socks and knitting away … Teva the retreat mascot made herself comfy on the sofa …

img_8882

As it was getting later in the evening I didn’t realise how many people had left to go to bed and before I knew it I was the last one left knitting …

img_8887

The next day we had more round the table knitting fun … one of the lovely ladies Paula did a little workshop on how to make a magic cake ball out of scraps of leftover yarns to turn it into a shawl following a pattern she designed … so that was lots of fun …

img_8897

Lots of knitting happened round this table …

img_8904

I posted my knitting FAQ’s video on wednesday too …

img_8921

I was quite proud of my first little mini skein of lumpy bumpy handspun yarn!

img_8924

I managed to film a podcast episode with fellow podcaster Dani who actually suggested the whole thing … we even roped in a couple other podcasters who were at the retreat to join us at the end for a bit of a group chat …

img_8929

This morning as we were all getting ready to leave it was quite sad to say good bye … but it was so much fun and I am so glad I decided to go along … having never been on a retreat of any kind before it was a brilliant experience …

img_8931

The last few stragglers left to leave …

img_8933

I got home and reflected on all the knitting I managed to finish while I was away … finished my cardigan which had half of one sleeve done before I left London and finished three pairs of socks which were all waiting for the heels and rest of the feet to be knit … I was really happy with the amount I got done considering all the chattering that was going on while we were away …

I had a bit of a trek to get home which involved a lift to Birmingham and then a train into London before getting back to my parents but it was all ok in the end … I’ve just finished packing my bags and I need to get some sleep before we have to leave at 3.30am to catch our flight to Rome in the morning …

Till next time …

Mina x

Leave a Reply

