Weekly Roundup … New York – The Trip That Almost Didn’t Happen … (& More Socks … Of Course!)

img_7744Hey everyone … time for another weekly roundup … its been a very busy but amazing week since the last time I checked in … well for the most part … there was one blip in the week which I will get to shortly … but we are still in New York and will be here until Sunday when we leave in the afternoon and wont be getting back to Bahrain till Monday late afternoon!

img_7664Anyway … last week on Friday morning we got up and out the house a little later than we had wanted to but still got to the airport with over 2 hours to go before our first flight (we had a connection in Dubai on our way to New York) … we get to check-in and quickly find out that there is something wrong with our booking … specifically that Perry booked my ticket under Mina which is a problem because that is not the name in my Passport!!!

Its a bit of a long story which I explained a bit in a post way back when which you can read HERE if you are interested …

I’ll keep it short for you all here but lets just say the next couple hours were incredibly stressful … I was both upset with Perry for the mistake (I mean its not like this is the first time he’s booked flights for us both and he’s never made this mistake before) and really disappointed that I may not be able to go on the trip … it seemed for the longest time that we were just going to have to cancel the ticket and loose all our money and then try to book another one which frankly we wouldn’t have done …

img_7675I was so convinced I was going home that I even got the car keys from Perry and asked him where he had put the car in the long term car park … I did a lot of stress knitting to avoid crying in the airport too! … anyway eventually and after alot of time on the phone Perry managed to convince the airline to change my ticket and we were finally able to check in with literally a couple mins left before check in closed for the flight … and it wasn’t really until we were sat down on the plane that it really hit both of us how close we were to not getting on the flight …

img_7689Anyway we finally got to New York all ok … Perry used his airmile points thing to upgrade our flight out which was really lovely … and I got a ridiculous amount of knitting done on the 14 hour flight …

img_7711We spent the first few days going around some of the yarn shops in the city … Perry feeling suitably guilty about what happened willingly came with me … and even promised to be happy about it!

img_7748

Its really cold here at the moment … although no snow 😦 … but the cold weather atleast has meant I’ve been able to get a lot of wear out of my hand knits …

img_7695

A lovely sunrise from our hotel room …

img_7744

I have been knitting pretty consistently since getting here … as in always knitting … this being for the sock knitting competition I was challenged to take part in … so I’ve been knitting on the Subway …

img_7725

And even Knitting while eating Pizza …

img_7727

I’ve been working my way through lots of socks …

img_7734

One of the things I picked up on my way around the city was a de-pilling tool to get rid of all the fuzzy pills on my hand knit cardigans … it is amazing and I love this thing …

img_7753

On Tuesday Perry started classes and I was able to get a podcast filmed and uploaded onto Youtube …

img_7770

Yesterday I headed up to New Haven in Connecticut for the day to visit with some friends who live up there … it was fun going to get the train from Grand Central Station …

img_7779

We spent the day hopping around from shop to shop looking at yarn and other fibre fun things …

img_7784Finally on the train back in the evening I finished up three more pairs of socks …

img_7792

Today I’m spending the morning at the hotel and later this afternoon I’m heading out to meet up with some other knitter friends for dinner and a catch up which will be lots of fun! Then tomorrow I’m meeting up with another fibre friend for a day out in the city ahead of the big Fibre Festival that is happening on Saturday …

Saturday is Vogue Knitting Live in New York and it happens to be held at the same hotel where we are staying … so I’m just really excited at the fact that I don’t even have to leave the building to attend!!!

That is it for today … I’ll be back next week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

