Weekly Roundup … Autumn On The East Coast …

IMG_6089Hey everyone … its been a really busy few days since I last posted … but its also been great fun! … We left for the USA really early morning on Friday (5am) and finally got to DC at around 3.30pm local time …

IMG_5958We ended up flying with Qatar Airways so had a short stop over in Doha before our 14hour slog of a flight over to Washington DC … it is probably the longest flight we have ever done (we have done this length of flight before but not really anything longer) with out any layovers and it was pretty tiring …

IMG_5960Doha airport has some interesting sculptures on display … I’m not too sure about this Teddy Bear one …

IMG_5986

We got to Perry’s friend’s place in Alexandria where we were staying and quickly got ourselves settled in … Puck their cat (one of two) was very welcoming and incredibly curious about all the handknits in my bag …

IMG_5990

I also finished up a couple of hats on the flight over!

IMG_5989

All wrapped up in my warm handknits getting ready to go out for dinner that first night …

IMG_6130

The view from the deck in the morning … Our friends we were staying with lived quite close to the Old Town area of Alexandria … and it was a great location to be based!

IMG_6056

Puck came to join us for cuddles in bed before we got up in the morning … We spent the first morning there exploring the Old Town area of Alexandria just the two of us … we had gone there in the first place because one of Perry’s classmates (the guy we were staying with) had organised this long weekend trip before their classes started this week … the majority had gone on a tour that morning and we decided to hang back and have a relaxed morning wandering Old Town …

IMG_6027

Later that evening we all got dressed up and headed out for some Halloween fun …

IMG_6049

We ended up going down along Lee Street in Old Town … apparently they take Halloween very seriously around these parts … this street was just crammed with people trick or treating …

IMG_6050

We had an axe wielding lumberjack unicorn amongst our group …

IMG_6059

The next morning we all went for brunch as a group and after we had some free time for the rest of the day … Perry went back to the house to do some course work while I headed off to Fibre Space … a yarn store in Old Town Alexandria, to meet up with some awesome knitting friends …

IMG_6072

I got to meet Emily and her adorably hyper French Bulldog Alice as well as the lovely Tanya, her Mum Lucy as well as a couple other viewers of the podcast who were able to come along too … It was a really fun afternoon chatting, knitting and shopping …

IMG_6089

After we were finished at Fibre Space Tanya and her Mum Lucy took me over to their friend Nancy’s home (I’d met Lucy and Nancy back in London when I was there in May earlier this year) for lunch … we had a lovely time there and this was the view down one of the roads on our way …

IMG_6105

Monday morning I got my Podcast up bright and early …

IMG_6109

I had also ordered these clear converse shoes which I’d had sent to Tanya due to the extortionate shipping they were going to try and charge for sending them to Bahrain … and I finally got to try them out on Monday … with a pair of rainbow socks of course!

IMG_6112

We were having a day out in Downtown DC and started with a tour of the Bureau of Printing and Engraving where they print US currency … then we were going on a tour of the US Capitol … however knitting needles were not allowed in the building so I sat outside and knit for 1hr30mins while the others went for a wander around …

IMG_6116

We then had to rush to get to the Pentagon where we were due to go on a tour there too … and surprisingly I did not have any issues getting into the Pentagon … but in the end it turned out we got there 5mins late for the tour and they wouldn’t let us go join it … turns out they are a real stickler for being on time!

IMG_6137

Tuesday afternoon was my flight up to Boston … and it was lovely to see all the autumnal colours from above as we flew over …

IMG_6141

I also finished another project on this flight … it seems to be becoming a thing for me to get knitting finished on flights!

IMG_6143

I was waiting for my cousin’s son to pick me up at the airport and took the opportunity to start a new pair of socks …

IMG_6156

Yesterday morning I went out for a walk with my cousin’s wife … I wore a bunch of my hand knits but really after 5mins it wasn’t necessary and in the end I pretty much carried them all for most of it … although it was a lovely day and the weather was beautiful … as is the scenery around their home …

IMG_6161

Last night I ended up going to the cinema with my Cousin and his son to see the new James Bond film Spectre which I really enjoyed … I also got a lot of knitting done on my socks too!

Today I think we will be heading into Boston itself later this afternoon … and then tomorrow morning I’ll be heading back to New York for the last couple days there with Perry before we go home …

Its been a great trip so far and I am looking forward to the last few days and then going home to snuggle the fluffy babies!

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Weekly Roundup … Autumn On The East Coast …

Leave a Reply

