Weekly Roundup – Return From New York & Stuff …

IMG_5337Hey everyone … so things have been a little hectic since getting back from New York … but it was a great trip and it still feels like were settling back into a routine this week … I have so much to be getting on with today so I’m going to keep this update pretty quick but with lots of photos for you to enjoy …

IMG_5161

Walking round Times Square at 6.30am one morning was really quite peaceful and with the rain it felt quite fresh and cool too which was really nice as the previous few days had been really hot and humid …

IMG_5157

Got to wear my Rainbow Socks out on the one really wet and rainy day we were in the city … which was fun …

IMG_5170

The view from the car as I was coming back from Lunch with my Boss in New Jersey on Thursday afternoon …

IMG_5174

The M&M world store was only a block away from our hotel so I thought it would be rude not to go and visit … I didn’t get anything this time but had fun looking around …

IMG_5199

On Friday I met up with the lovely Stephanie and her kids … her and her husband used to live in Dubai and she was a member of the Knitting Group I went to there … but they had moved to New York before I started knitting so I never got to meet her before … it was a lovely day spent relaxing in Brooklyn and hanging out playing with the kids …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

We ended up heading out to a park near the Brooklyn and Manhattan Bridges …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

And I ended up walking back to Manhattan over the Brooklyn Bridge … something I had always wanted to do but had never gotten round to doing before now …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

It was the perfect time of day for it too as the sun was just getting ready to set …

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

One morning Perry and I had breakfast together before he left for school …

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Some fun lighting decorations at the place we had breakfast …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The hotel we stayed at had a fun way of decorating the construction hoarding which would normally be an eyesore while they make some improvements …

IMG_5188

On Saturday Morning I worked on some socks before heading out to meet a couple of other knitters …

IMG_5277

I was walking over to Grand Central Station to meet up with Sarah and Adrienne who had come down to hang out for the day from Connecticut …

IMG_5284

We headed out to Brooklyn for our first stop and made our way to Gauge & Tension … this place is a weekend only pop up yarn shop … it was a lot of fun and we got to hang out with some other lovely knitters … I got to see Kristen again and also met Maria who is another fellow knitter and podcaster …

IMG_5380

After that we did actually end up going to several other Yarn stores in Manhattan but I have saved all the other photos from the day for a separate post … at the end of the day after all the shopping was done and our feet were exhausted … we stumbled past this pretty little book shop … none of us had the energy to go in and explore but I will be sure to check it out again sometime …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

As we were waiting to get on the Subway at the end of the day we realised we didn’t have a picture with all three of us … so here is the end of the day photo of us all absolutely knackered …

IMG_5293

I got back to Times Square to find it had been turned into a street market … not sure if this is a one off or a regular thing at the weekends …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetPerry and I headed out for some Japanese food for dinner later that evening … it was really good to see him for dinner … most of the week on the days he had classes he didn’t get back to the hotel till quite late … we both went for the Katsu Curry … it was delicious …

IMG_5300

Sunday morning was packing day … I had actually packed most of my stuff the night before so it wasn’t too long before we were both ready to head out for the day …

IMG_5306

As we were walking up 7th Avenue we saw this sign on the side of the road … turns out they were filming scenes for the new Ghostbusters movie along the road that morning and we learned the tentative name for the project is ‘flapjack’ which I found quite funny …

IMG_5311

And then the car pulled up nearby so we were able to get a picture …

IMG_5320

We walked up to Central Park and went for a wander through the lower part of the park … it was a lovely sunny Sunday morning and lots of people were out and about enjoying the good weather that day …

IMG_5327

We met up with our friend Joe who was also in the city for the weekend and had a delicious lunch before heading for a coffee at La Colombe … which was a place recommended to me by Sarah who I had met the day before …

IMG_5330

Following that we headed back to the hotel to grab our bags and made our way to the airport to get ready for our flight home …

IMG_5337

Pretty sunset as we were getting ready to leave …

IMG_5336I also got round to posting my latest podcast episode from the airport …

IMG_5361

Several flights later we finally made it home … and found we now have a ROAD!!! … this section of road leading up to our compound has been a sand pit ever since before we moved in and its finally become a road!!!

IMG_5368

I also got round to blocking my new shawl design to its proper size …

IMG_5365

I got a new ball winder while in the USA and I absolutely love it … it cakes up the yarn beautifully and now all I want to do is wind all the yarn!

IMG_5376

I started two new shawl projects …

IMG_5379

And caked up some more yarn to make socks for me …

That pretty much sums up this week … Perry has been settling back into work and were both trying to get our sleep back on track … so far it seems to be going ok … I am working on getting some bags sewn up for the shop soon and we will be going away again next week …

Next Wednesday is Saudi National Day and the Thursday is the start of the Eid Al Adha holidays (which also happens to be my Birthday) … and most companies have a few days off for that … so Perry and I have booked a few nights away in Oman for that … the idea is to just have a relaxing no fuss holiday where we don’t have to do anything in particular other than rest and recoup … this is more for Perry than me as he’s had quite a stressful few months …

Anyway we are both really looking forward to this trip and I’m sure I’ll be back to share more about that after it happens …

Till next time …

Take care …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup – Return From New York & Stuff …

  1. What gorgeous wool and what a good idea to invest in a wool winder. Drives me made when I end up with a tangle of wool while I’m knitting. Wished I had the time for more knitting. Love the knitting expat podcast idea! Great pics, too. I bet your catties were sulking a bit, when you came back. Mine always did. How dare Mummy leave her for a few days!

Leave a Reply

