Weekly Roundup … A Week In Saudi Arabia!

IMG_3415Hey everyone … so another week has passed so time for a Weekly Roundup … This week has been a bit of a strange one … spent most of it in Saudi Arabia and most of that time has been spent in a hotel room!

But first a bit about what we got up to last weekend … Perry got home early on Thursday last week due to Ramadan hours and so we made the most of our extra evening time and headed out to one of the malls to go see Jurassic World at the cinema … it was really good fun and we both really enjoyed the movie too …

IMG_3395The rest of the weekend was relatively uneventful … just general errands and other stuff like that … we decided relatively last minute that I would come to Saudi Arabia this week to finally get my visa sorted … so I spent Saturday night finishing some knitting and packing my bags …

IMG_3413Sunday morning bright and early we got up and headed out the door for the causeway … I was a little worried they wouldn’t let me over the border that way as when I got my entry visa they told me I had to enter via an airport … but thankfully it was fine …

I managed to get my medical done that morning and then I pretty much spent the rest of the day in the hotel room … the next couple days were much the same … spent majority of the day in the room and occasionally popped out for a bit with Perry in the evening to drive around or go to a couple shops … but to be honest there isn’t much to do here and Ramadan doesn’t help matters much either …

Monday I filmed a PODCAST episode but after much internet troubles trying to upload it I finally got it up on Tuesday!

IMG_3433Knowing that I would be spending so much time stuck in a room I brought a fair amount of knitting projects with me … I actually packed more than I needed to on purpose as I didn’t want to risk running out … not that there was any trouble of that happening this time …

IMG_3415

I have finished a couple projects while here so far … I started and finished a pair of socks in two days … which is a little ridiculous …

IMG_3427 IMG_3429 IMG_3442

And I finally finished this cardigan I had been working on since April … for me that is my longest project ever!

IMG_3444I’m so happy its finished but I still need to find a zipper for it … but the actually knitting portion of the cardigan is done and I seriously couldn’t be happier!

IMG_3453

Perry had stumbled across this stationary place previously and last night we decided to go and check it out … he hadn’t been before just driven past it … it was called Stationary Fantasies … and honestly this place had pretty much everything … even scented paper which was kinda crazy … and even some yarn … although its not anything I would want to knit with …

I finally got my residency visa sorted yesterday … Perry took me to the place where I have to get my residency card issued and after a lot of back and forth from one place to another (pretty typical) we finally found the right person and were sorted pretty quickly after that …

We will be going home later today and I am so looking forward to getting back to Hugo and Derek and just getting back to routine again … I feel like I’ve been really unsettled lately and it’ll be nice to just stay still for a while …

Thanks for tuning in this week and I’ll be back soon …

Till next time …

Mina X

4 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup … A Week In Saudi Arabia!

  1. I. Love hearing all your news. I’ve learned more about the Middle East in your podcast then from any other source. To tell the truth the Middle East scars me and I would never visit there. I am Canadian. I think you are a very sweet and kind person.

    • Yes thank you … I’m hoping to get a zipper soon … My mum is on the lookout for something for me too I case I can’t find what I’m looking for here!!! Hopefully will find it soon 😊

Leave a Reply

