Weekly Roundup … Visa Drama … Smashed Phone … & Sick Kids …

IMG_2705-0You can probably already tell from the title of this Weekly Roundup that its been one of those weeks … its just been really busy and really tiring and quite emotionally draining too … last weekend was relatively uneventful … Perry had a lot of studying to do and I had quite a bit to sort out and get organised before flying out to Dubai …

I actually pre-recorded my Podcast episode … that went out on Monday … on Sunday morning cause I knew Monday would be hectic for me … so once that was all done and uploaded I finished packing and headed off to the airport …

IMG_2798I flew out to Dubai on Sunday afternoon and got here in the evening … its only a 1hour flight but with the added 1 hour time difference it actually makes quite the difference … anyway that part was all relatively easy and uneventful …

IMG_2745-0Monday morning I went to get my Medical Fitness test done … which should have been a simple process of going in to give a blood test and have a chest x-ray … I had to go to a specific medical centre in the middle of no where to get this done … thankfully it was relatively close to where my friend Stef lives (and also happens to be where I am staying) … my first hiccup was my own fault … I wasn’t even let in through the door of the medical centre because I was wearing a dress that didn’t cover my knees …

Honestly I should have known better and if it hadn’t been for the fact that I was up really early and hadn’t slept well I’d have probably realised before I’d left the house and would have changed … so I made a quick trip back to Stef’s to get changed and headed back to the medical centre for round two …

This time I got through the door … but then the next challenge was figuring out where to go … the centre is made up of 10 blocks and each does something different … the place was packed with people there to get medical tests done for various purposes … so it was a pretty crowded and hectic place …

It took about 30mins of asking people where I was supposed to go and being told to go from A to B to D to X to wherever else … because either they didn’t know what they were on about or they just didn’t want to deal with it … anyway in the end I stumbled across a nurse in a treatment room and … I guess by this point I must have been looking pretty desperate … asked her if she knew where I was supposed to be … thankfully she did and very clearly wrote down all the steps I needed to do … exactly who to go to speak to and where etc … and then I was to go back and see her …

So I did all that and then everything went smoothly from there … it was still a series of go from A to B to C to D to get different things done but at least things were finally getting done …

I think all in all I was probably there for about an hour running round from one block to the next … the only block they didn’t send me to was Block 6 … which was the Embalming Unit!!!

Anyway I spent the rest of the day with Stef her Twins and the new baby … the twins had their school sports day that morning and I got back just in time to join Stef to go see them in action … although they are only 2.5 yrs old so the sports day was very much just watching the kids running around the sports hall …

Then Tuesday was the next stage in my Saudi Visa application process (I don’t think I mentioned earlier in this post … But I am in Dubai to get my paperwork sorted and submitted to get my Saudi Entry Permit so I can go to Saudi Arabia and then get my full Residency Visa) … I went to the place where I have to submit my paperwork first thing in the morning to make sure I had all the documents I needed and that they were all correct before showing up in the afternoon for my appointment only to find out that there is something missing … atleast if they tell me I’m missing something in the morning I have the rest of the day to sort it out …

IMG_2808All was fine thankfully and I only needed to collect the results of my medical test … that was the next hurdle and involved a bunch of followup phone calls and desperate pleas explaining that I had to have the report today or else I’d miss my visa application submission etc … anyway in the end one of the lovely nurses at the Medical Centre managed to get the hospital analysing the blood work to hurry mine along and input the results into the system asap so they could print my report … I should say here that I got quite lucky with this … I was actually rather shocked that she did this and even called me back when she said she would (my experience of these things in the Middle East to date has been that people like this are rarely found … they are very few and far between) …

So after all that I got my medical report and got to my appointment in time and everything was submitted successfully … and yesterday afternoon I got the text message to tell me my passport would be ready for collection today … which I am very excited about … and will be going to get it later this afternoon …

IMG_2814-0I spent the rest of the afternoon / evening at home with Stef and the girls … the twins weren’t feeling too well and I started on some toddle socks for them while we watched a movie …

IMG_2826-0Yesterday was however another emotionally taxing day … I had a good start … met up with my friend Jhocy for lunch near her work … and we had a lovely time catching up and chatting … then I had to go to my bank to sort some stuff out … that ended up being a major challenge … the roads around the Safa park area have all changed and many of the routes have been closed off due to all the new construction thats going on around there now for this Canal Project thats underway … so it took me the better part of an hour just to get to my bank when it really should have only been 10mins …

Then after that I headed to Dubai Mall to run some other errands … when almost as soon as I stepped inside the mall some rather inconsiderate person bumped into me so hard I dropped my phone … and the screen totally smashed … they didn’t even slow down or stop to apologise … just kept going …

IMG_2830Thankfully the screen itself still works so its just the glass that broke … it hasn’t actually damaged the LCD … also thankfully I have one of those plastic sticker things on the glass … you know those ones that stops your screen getting scratched … so that pretty much is the only thing holding all the tiny broken pieces together at the moment …

IMG_2832The twins have also been pretty ill on and off this week … so its just been quite tiring in general …

Anyway today I am off this morning to go meet up with some of the knitting ladies for a morning of knitting and chatting which should be great fun … and I have some fun plans with Stef and her family over the weekend … then we are into next week which we will see what dramas that will bring with it …

That is it for this week … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Weekly Roundup … Visa Drama … Smashed Phone … & Sick Kids …

  1. I feel exhausted hearing (and now reading!) about your Saudi visa woes. Hope you get it stamped on your passport soon. I’ll buy you a muffin or tart on Monday to cheer you up šŸ™‚ Enjoy your weekend.

Leave a Reply

