Weekly Roundup … Fibre Festivals & Getting Back To Bahrain …

IMG_2418Hey everyone … well another week has come and gone and its time for another roundup … I’ve been really slow at getting blog posts out lately mostly because I was away and didn’t have much down time to work on them … and things don’t look to be slowing down anytime soon …

But back to last week first … Thursday was a fun day … even though it was miserable weather in London and just rained the whole time … I met up with a friend I hadn’t seen in ages for Lunch and then caught up with another friend of mine … Mel from Dubai … who happened to be in London for a few days at the same time as me …

IMG_2381We headed over to Loop in Islington for their knit night that evening and had a lovely time meeting other knitters and just knitting away on our projects …

IMG_2379After that I met up with the rest of my family and we headed over to Hoxton for some yummy vietnamese food … which was delicious …

IMG_2387

The next morning on my way out the house I noticed my sunglasses had broken … but I’ve still been wearing them like this as I haven’t actually had a chance to get new ones yet … something I will need to get to soon …

IMG_2393

I was heading out to meet up with Mel again in London … this time we were heading to the iKnit Fandango Fibre Festival in Westminster … for both of us it was our first time at a Fibre Festival of any kind so we were quite excited … and we were both wearing my shawl that I designed …

IMG_2395

We had so much fun at the festival … got to see and touch lots of beautiful things … and chat to lots of wonderful people there … it was just an awesome day and I am so glad we were able to go …

IMG_2430 IMG_2418 IMG_2412

Mel in here happy place … surrounded by Yarn and cuddling as much of it as she could …

IMG_2433 IMG_2436

Me and my bouquet of yarn … so many pretty colours it was really hard to actually choose anything … we ended up leaving with rather bulging bags …

IMG_2455I met up with my Mum after and passed all my goodies to her to take home as I was off out for the rest of the evening with my friends …

IMG_2527Saturday was a relaxing day at home mostly … which was great and just what I needed before heading back to Bahrain … I spent a good portion of the day packing our bags …

IMG_2531Vacuum pack bags came to the rescue when trying to get all the yarn in the suitcases …

IMG_2534

in the end everything was packed and all the bags came in under the weight limit which was great …

IMG_2389I spent the rest of the day knitting on a project for my Mum (above) and we had a yummy dinner my Mum made instead of going out … which I preferred more at that point …

IMG_2537

We got back to Bahrain fine the next day … it was an easy flight … the only problem I had was finding my car in the car park at the airport … took me a good 20mins of walking around clicking the remote trying to find it …

IMG_2555We were greeted by very happy boys who were delighted to see us back again …

IMG_2561

And Tyson who met me at the end of the road as I was driving home …

IMG_2562

I spent most of the next day doing all the usual post travel things … laundry, tidying, food shopping … etc … and I ended up doing my Podcast a day late this week because of it too …

IMG_2631Another annoying thing that happened is apparently while we were away someone tried to smuggle explosives into Saudi Arabia over the causeway so now they have all these extra security measures in place which is massively impacting Perry’s commute to and from work … so in the short term his work have said they will put him up in a hotel a couple nights a week to help with that … not the ideal situation but I guess better than being stuck in the car for hours … other than that the rest of this week has been a bit of a blur … I had a bunch of my knit wear to hand wash …

IMG_2578

I also got to finally properly pin out my shawl design … and I love how its looking now …

IMG_2586

I had some trouble with some admin type stuff the other day and in my frustration decided I would start a number of new knitting projects in an attempt to cheer me up … which turned into a bit of an instagram Cast-On-Party …

IMG_2628By the end of the night I had made a start on all four new projects …

IMG_2634

The one I am closest to finishing now are the socks …

IMG_2658

Finally this morning I went out with a friend to go shopping for an Abaya … once all my paperwork is in place I will have to go to Saudi Arabia to finalise and get my Residency visa stamped into my passport … and so I will need an Abaya for when I go to Saudi Arabia …

IMG_2664

Thankfully I was able to get a really lovely one from a store my friend goes to get hers from … and its the right length and all … not too bling or crazy with the design … but that wasn’t what I wanted anyway …

On the topic of sorting out visa stuff … I have to go back to Dubai for a little less than two weeks to sort out some of these visa things … so looks like I will be heading over on Sunday evening and coming back a little over a week later … I think its actually about 10 days total …

Right … well that is it for this week … this weekend is going to be quite busy and now I need to go and book flights …

Thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

