Knitting Adventures … Bias Shawls …

_MG_2565-1Hey everyone … welcome back to another Knitting Adventures post … this one is all about the Bias Shawl … I hadn’t knit one before and then decided to knit two concurrently … which wasn’t the worst idea … both were quite different but similar construction …

I realised I really like the bias shawl construction style as it creates a long and narrow shawl which is more reminiscent of a scarf but much more interesting and enjoyable to knit … atleast that is how I felt about it …

_MG_2571-1First up is the TAILWIND shawl … I knit this out of some of the yarn I brought back from Iceland … it was the first project I knit with my Icelandic yarn so I was quite excited for this one … I actually started knitting on this as the movers arrived to pack up our apartment in Dubai and had it finished just before we finally left …

_MG_2687-1 _MG_2689-1 _MG_2572-1It’s a quick knit and relatively mindless once you get going … I actually took this to the cinema and knit some of the last section while watching a movie in the dark … first time I had tried that and thankfully I didn’t mess anything up either …

_MG_2694-1 _MG_2688-1It has an applied I-cord edging that you knit as you make the shawl and then bind off using the I-cord bind off … and while it takes forever and a day to do that bind off it is worth it for the end result …

_MG_2565-1_MG_2575-1 _MG_2686-1The second shawl I made was the TRILLIAN bias shawl … again a simple Garter stitch base but with a simple lace trim along the edges …

_MG_2678-1 _MG_2677-1This was also quick and easy to knit up but did take a little more thought with the lace edge so it wasn’t exactly suitable for cinema knitting …

_MG_2579-1 _MG_2683-1It worked perfectly with the lovely variegations in the soft Merino/Silk yarn …

_MG_2576-1It also turned out to be massive … its just so incredibly long … and I love it!

That is it for this post … thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

