Knitting Adventures … Some More Hats …

_MG_2612-1Hey everyone … welcome back to another Knitting Adventures post … this time I’ve a few hats to share … I really enjoy hat projects … they are quick knits and highly portable projects too so they are perfect for on the go knitting which I quite like … the instant satisfaction helps alot too …

_MG_2656-1 _MG_2657-1First up is this Multicoloured Hat that I kind of made up as I went along … there was no pattern for this I just cast on and went for it …

_MG_2658-1 _MG_2652-1 _MG_2594-1 _MG_2600-1It turned out to have the perfect proportions to be both a slouchy hat … and if you turn up the rim its a snug beanie …

_MG_2601-1 _MG_2608-1 _MG_2611-1 _MG_2612-1

I have plans to write up the pattern for this one soon so keep an eye out for that one …

_MG_2590-1 _MG_2662-1Next up is the Xeranthemum hat … this was one I’d had my eye on to make for a while and finally got round to it recently … again a quick knit with a simple yet effective pattern to it …

_MG_2666-1 _MG_2588-1 _MG_2586-1I like how this one turned out in the red tweedy yarn …

_MG_2617-1Next up is this super quick Man Hat … I made this as a thank you gift for our friend Joe who kindly brought me all the Knitpicks yarn I’d ordered …

_MG_2649-1Its a simple broken rib texture pattern … I really enjoyed knitting this and I can see making more of these in the future …

_MG_2651-1

_MG_2925-1Finally I have the Sodermalm Light hat … which I knit up super fast as it was so addictive … I’ve been meaning to get back into knitting more fairisle patterns and this was a good one to get started with …

_MG_2881-1I decided to use two contrast colours rather than just one as written in the pattern but I loved how the blues looked together …

_MG_2927-1 _MG_2885-1This also happened to be my first fingering weight hat that I’ve knit … so I thought it would have taken me longer to finish but like I mentioned it was really quite addictive knitting …

_MG_2884-1I also found I was able to knit it while holding the yarn in both hands … so knitting both continental and english style at the same time … which is how Fairisle is supposed to be knit … so I’m glad I was able to get the technique sorted to the point where it feels comfortable knitting that way …

_MG_2928-1After blocking the stitches really evened out and I was happy to see the floats around the back weren’t too tight … I’m looking forward to trying my hand at some more Fairisle patterns soon …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

