Knitting Adventures … Eyjafjnallajokull Shawl & A Little Cat …

_MG_2584-1Hey everyone … welcome back to another knitting adventures post … this time about the Icelandic inspired Eyjafjnallajokull Shawl I made a while ago … I have to say right from the start this was probably the most stressful thing I have ever knit … only because as I got closer and closer to finishing it … the more I realised I didn’t have enough yarn …

Anyway it all started out great and the actual pattern was really enjoyable to knit … it was easy to keep track of where you are and it was easy to see if you had made a mistake cause the repeats were small enough that you could tell if you had made a mistake before progressing too far … I decided to do it in three colours starting with the heathery grey in the middle transitioning to the light blue and ending on the outside with the dark teal colour …

_MG_2670-1The thing was I knew it would look better with the colours transitioning from the lighter in the middle to dark on the outside edge rather than the other way round … although I had much more of the grey yarn so going the other way would have been the safer option …

_MG_2673-1But I decided to go with it and do it the way I knew I was going to like the outcome … but when I was halfway through the dark teal section and I had to change to my second ball of the yarn I knew it was going to be enough to finish the pattern but not enough to bind off the stitches …

_MG_2584-1Sure enough I ran out 2/3rds of the way through binding off the stitches and it was stressful to see how far it would go … thankfully I had a similar enough yarn in almost the exact same colour … just slightly fuzzier … that I was able to substitute in to finish off the shawl … which was a relief cause I’m not sure what else I would have done if that wouldn’t have worked …

_MG_2581-1Anyway all in all I love how this shawl turned out and its reaffirmed my love for knitting circular shawls … probably not the most practical to wear but certainly the most enjoyable to make …

_MG_2625-1Finally to round out this post a couple weeks ago I knit up this cute little Beans the Cat … it only took a couple hours of knitting but I did force myself to make this on DPN’s rather than reverting to magic loop knitting … it wasn’t easy to start off but once I got going it wasn’t too bad … although it did hurt my hands after a while …

_MG_2647-1But I do think he turned out really quite adorable!

That is it for this week … thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Knitting Adventures … Eyjafjnallajokull Shawl & A Little Cat …

Leave a Reply

