Weekly Roundup … Lots More Knitting … Weekend With Joe & General Happenings …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetHey everyone … so welcome back to another weekly roundup … its been another productive but busy week … I’m really liking these types of weeks actually … makes me feel like I’ve actually achieved something with my time … although having said that my to do list does just keep growing every day …

IMG_1016Anyway … last Thursday evening before heading to the airport to pick up Joe I started a new knitting project … which was a beautiful shawl design called Razzle … its very simple in its design but I love how its turned out …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIt ended up being my weekend knitting and I had it finished by the Sunday evening before I had to take Joe back to the airport …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetSo another knitting related thing quickly here … when Joe arrived he also brought me some yarn that I’d ordered to his place … which was really lovely of him … and I just dumped it all on my desk … it was a colourful jumble of yarn …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetLast Friday we took Joe for Brunch at the Sofitel hotel which was a lot of fun … it was the first time Perry and I had been to this brunch as well but it certainly didn’t disappoint …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe chocolate display and fountain was pretty epic …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThey even had a Tea Station …

IMG_1030Cocktails with dessert is always a fun idea …

IMG_1038After food we decided to go for a drive round and see what else there is nearby … we soon figured we weren’t too far from the Tree of Life and thought we would check that out while we were close … and ended up driving through the Bahrain oil fields to get to it … we stopped along the way to see the first oil well in Bahrain … or rather what was left of it …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe Tree of Life is meant to be interesting as it is the only naturally occurring tree (as in not planted by people) in the area and apparently the area is really arid so no one knows exactly how it survives …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIt is a bit of a shame though as the trunks of the tree have been heavily carved into and graffitied by visitors which is sad to see …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIt also appears the visitor centre was never finished …

IMG_1055On Saturday we headed out for breakfast before checking out some of the markets around town … we ended up at the main souq in Manama in the early afternoon and after walking around for a while we stumbled across this little back alley tea cafe … so we took a break to have a cup while resting our feet …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetWe headed over to the Adliya area for a late lunch at Cafe Lilou’s which was lovely …

IMG_1059Then we spent the rest of the afternoon helping Joe pick out a rug …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetOn Sunday Joe and I headed out to explore a little … I had some errands to run but then we drove over to the Amwaj Islands to check out the Tea Club … as Joe is rather obsessed with Tea we thought we would go and see what its all about …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetThe place is stunning to look at and they have a ridiculous variety of tea … we stayed to try a couple pots of tea and had some food before heading back …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetOn the way home I took Joe down to the Fishing Pier at the end of Budaiya to just look out at the views and you can actually see the causeway bridge over to Saudi Arabia from there too …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

You see that large building to the left of the above photo? you know the one that looks like a castle? well thats a private house … its ginormous!!!

Later that evening I took Joe back to the airport for his flight on to his next destination … and I got up early on Monday morning to record my second podcast episode which was a lot of fun …

I found I was really looking forward to recording this week and the support I’ve gotten so far from people online has been amazing …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

On Tuesday morning I had organised a knitting meetup for the Knitting in Bahrain group on Facebook … and that ended up being really quite a success … in the end there were seven of us throughout the morning/afternoon there … a couple ladies had to leave earlier and a couple arrived later but it was so lovely to meet those who came … and three ladies learnt to knit for the first time too which is always fun to see …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I spotted this Dammit Doll in a store randomly the other day and thought it was quite appropriate for certain stressful situations …

IMG_1020

The rest of the week has been great … I’ve done a fair bit of knitting and organising … although not much organising of my desk it seems …

IMG_1151

Oh and the last major event of the week … we learned that Derek has figured out how to open our sliding cupboard doors … I’ve been finding him in there all week … at first I thought he had gotten trapped in there in the mornings when Perry went to work … but soon realised that no he had figured out how to open the doors … then the other day I found this when I opened the door …

IMG_1159Derek had opened it up enough for them to get in … then Hugo had decided half this shelf was his and pulled out a bunch of Perry’s clothes to make space for himself on the shelf … seriously these two are too much sometimes …

In other words Perry is working from home today … this week and it seems next week is also the same … but this week was the school holidays for Saudi Arabia and the causeway getting back to Bahrain in the evening has been a nightmare for Perry … most evenings this week he’s averaged about 3 hrs for his drive home …

Anyway were hoping next week will be a bit better but if the schools are also off next week it may be as bad …

Finally we don’t have much planned this weekend yet … we have some flights and things we desperately need to sort out and other such stuff but otherwise it should be a relatively quiet one …

Oh and before I forget to mention it I am actually going to be back in Dubai for a couple days next week … it seems I have some bank things I need to sort out in person so I’m heading over quickly to fix that and catch up with friends briefly before coming back for the weekend … so that should be fun …

That is it for this week … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

One thought on “Weekly Roundup … Lots More Knitting … Weekend With Joe & General Happenings …

Leave a Reply

