Weekly Roundup Time … My Knitting Anniversary … & Our First Visitor …

IMG_0984Hey everyone … how has your week been? … mine has been pretty great so far … a couple ups and downs along the way but good overall … and its looking like its going to be a fun weekend too what with our friend Joe on his way over to visit for a couple days … I will be picking him up from the airport later this evening …

IMG_0948Anyway last weekend was good fun … we spent most of Friday at home and in the afternoon me and some of the neighbours had organised a bit of a get together around the pool in our compound as a way for everyone to meet each other … especially for the guys … that was a lot of fun and it was nice to spend a couple hours in the evening outside making new friends and having a relaxed dinner … we did a sort of Pot Luck thing so everyone brought a little something to share which worked out really great …

IMG_0955On Saturday we were out an about in the afternoon … on our way home we go past this corner locally referred to as the ‘Ash Tray’ if only because its become a popular spot for people to set tyres on fire … and last weekend we saw that for the first time …

IMG_0958We also got a BBQ last weekend so Perry was excited to try that out for dinner when we got home …

IMG_0977

Earlier in the week I finally got round to setting up a Facebook group for Knitting In Bahrain to try and start building a little community of people to get together and knit every now and again … and frankly I’ve been floored by the amazing response and the number of people who have joined in the last 5 days since I started the group … we are currently at 48 members which is amazing … I’ve already organised a midweek meetup for the group and there are quite a few people who have said they will come along which is great … alot of them are new to knitting so I’ll be doing a fair bit of teaching I imagine the first few times which is more than fine by me …

IMG_0995

We also got round to trying out the rotisserie function on our oven with a roast chicken … it actually turned out way better than I’d expected and it was much faster cooking a chicken this way too … although it was quite a small one …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I didn’t get too much sewing done this week but I did another patchwork project bag … not as big as the last one but still very roomy …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset I spent a fair bit of time earlier this week finishing off the back of my cardigan that I am working on … I did actually finish it down to the hem I just haven’t taken a more recent photo of it than the one below … but seriously weaving in all the ends just about killed me … its totally worth it though … I’m loving how this one is turning out …

IMG_0942 IMG_0937

Monday was my 1 year knitting anniversary and for some reason I finally decided to take the plunge and start a Knitting Podcast … its the Knitting Expat Podcast on Youtube so if you are interested in that sort of thing feel free to go over take a look and if you like what you see you can subscribe to see when I’ve uploaded a new video … IMG_0984

I was quite nervous about publishing it at first but then I figured its not going to kill me so may as well give it a go … I’ve really been getting into knitting podcasts the last few months and had thought about starting one up since getting to Bahrain (oh and we’ve been here a month now … how did that happen???) … and there aren’t any other knitting related podcasts by anyone else who lives in the Middle East … at least none that I was able to find …

All in all I had fun filming it … there are plenty of things I can improve on and hopefully as I keep going with it I’ll get more relaxed with the whole thing … I also started up a complementary blog to go with the podcast called the Knitting Expat Blog … this is where I will be posting the shownotes for each episode … so if there is anything I talk about that you may be interested in I’ll have it linked there …

In summary on the podcast I will be talking a bit about where I am with my knitting … What I’ve finished … what I’m still working on … what stuff I’m planning and a bit in general about whats been happening outside of knitting … and probably other random musings along the way …

IMG_0999I made some progress on my third pair of socks for this year … really liking how these are turning out …

IMG_1011I finally got my studio lights and stuff set up this week to take photos of my finished knits … its one thing I really like about our current home is we have so much space I can leave my lighting setup out and all ready to go in one of the spare rooms so the cats can’t get to it … so I’m hoping that with easier access to good lighting now I’ll be able to keep on top of photographing my finished knitting projects …

IMG_1002Other than that I booked myself a Dr’s appointment with an orthopaedic Dr this week to get a follow up for my leg … everything is fine and he suggested a few things I could do to help with the swelling in my leg and also informed me that usually they would remove the plate and screws about a year after surgery … so that’s something to look forward to (can you read the sarcasm?) … it doesn’t have to be exactly a year but for now I’m not really going to worry about that … we will figure it out as and when it becomes necessary …

I’m looking forward to this weekend and getting to spend some time with Joe and Perry will be fun … so I think I will leave it there for this week …

Thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

