Knitting Adventures … A Couple Of Colourful Shawls & Shawlettes …

_MG_1193-1Hey everyone … so its time for another Knitting Adventures update … this time I have a few shawls to share … four in fact … these were all fun to knit and for the most part were pretty simple TV knitting that doesn’t require too much attention for the majority of the pattern … which sometimes is just what you need … I find I tend to gravitate towards a project like this after I’ve completed a project that required more brain power …

_MG_1202-1 _MG_0904-1Anyway starting off is this simple Oaklet Shawl … which actually turned out smaller than the pattern said it would even though I got the correct gauge so I’m not sure what went wrong there …

_MG_0929-1 _MG_0916-1 _MG_1200-1In any case its still a bright and colourful shawlette …

_MG_0922-1 _MG_0910-1 _MG_1195-1I liked the fact that it was a simple stockinette body with a delicate lace border at the bottom …

_MG_1193-1Next up is this frilly edged shallow triangular shawl … its a simple stockinette shawl with a ruffled edge created by increasing stitches quickly at the end … it did mean that there was a ridiculous number of stitches to bind off though at the end …

_MG_1272-1 _MG_1267-1 _MG_1279-1 _MG_1275-1All in all not a bad knit … although I do think if I had changed my needles I’d have probably enjoyed this knit more … the bamboo needles I used were just too grippy for this knit project and the yarn so at times it did feel like I was battling to move the stitches along … not sure why I didn’t change the needles … but there we go …

_MG_1188-1

_MG_1470-1Next up is this GROOVE shawl by Stephen West … its one of his earlier designs for knitty which I really liked … and I ended up knitting out of some cotton yarn I had which I really wanted to try out …

_MG_1475-1 _MG_1477-1 _MG_1543-1I love how it came out with the colour combination …

_MG_1472-1 _MG_1551-1The yarn itself is really lovely and soft but it was really drying on my hands while I was knitting with it … I would happily knit with this yarn again …

_MG_1484-1Finally I have this half pi shaped shawl … not really a pattern but more a recipe that I followed … simple garter rows interspersed with eyelets … I didn’t block it in the end because I quite liked how the edge ruffled …

_MG_1483-1 _MG_1494-1 _MG_1491-1Its plenty large enough as it is … but I could probably get it larger by blocking it out … I may do that one day but for now I like it the way it is …

_MG_1496-1Anyway that is it for this post …

Thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

