Weekly Roundup … Getting Back To The Sewing Machine …

IMG_0828Hey everyone … welcome to another Weekly Roundup … its been a good week overall … not a great week for my walking goals but otherwise its been pretty good … last weekend was really quite productive and we got a lot of stuff done around the house …

We got round to assembling the chest of drawers and I finally got to unpack the last box from the move … so we are now officially all moved in … and we also got round to assembling the bookcase for my craft room … it took most of the day on Sunday actually to organise the room and get everything put away neatly …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetBut I’m quite liking how its turned out … although I think I may need a second one in a few months … we still have the day bed that needs to be assembled in the craft room but it turns out Perry picked up the wrong mattress which was my fault for not checking which one it was that we needed … so that one is currently on hold until he gets the mattress changed over …

IMG_0836We picked up a rather sizeable piece of Beef at the weekend and I made a Pot roast with half of it … my first attempt at a pot roast and after a false start (turns out the oven wasn’t on for the first hour) we finally got there in the end … and it was really rather delicious … definitely something to make again …

IMG_0866The benefit of finally getting my craft room as set up as I can for now … (there are still things I need to add/tweak) … has meant I’ve got my sewing machine set up and ready to go … so I’ve been enjoying getting back into doing some sewing projects this week …

IMG_0867I started with practicing some patchwork piecing … I’d gotten some precut pieces of fabric at Christmas and after pulling out all the ones that matched I sewed them up and ended up with two rather large panels … so I turned that into a large wedge project bag for my knitting … I actually have a large project I’m currently working on in there but I can’t show you as its a secret project …

IMG_0881I also made up a case for one of my Interchangeable Knitting Needle sets … I was really chuffed with how this one came out as I kinda made up as I went along … I have one more set of needles so will need to be making up another one of these soon …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI made a third sewing project this week too but this one didn’t turn out as great … it’s a triangular wedge bag … which I am happy with the way its constructed but I didn’t get the measurements quite right so its narrower than I would have liked … which isn’t the end of the world and still a perfectly useable bag … I just need to make some adjustments to the sizing next time I make one …

IMG_0846Back the cooking side of things I also whipped up this really yummy chicken broth/soup type thing the other day … it turned out really lovely and was perfect with a nice dollop of greek yoghurt on top …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI have also been doing a fair bit of knitting this week … although mostly on the secret project so can’t share photos of that yet … but I have also been working on a cardigan for myself … and I’m really loving the construction of this one … and because its made up in a different way its kept the knitting really interesting so far … I’m looking forward to getting this one finished up …

_MG_2465-1Earlier in the week I went for a lovely walk early in the morning around the neighbourhood … there are basically two roads that lead in to where we live so I did what amounts to a really large loop around … it was about 2.5km in all so not a massive distance but a good amount for me at the moment … I took my camera along with me too so I’ll be doing a blog post about that one soon …

_MG_2469-1

Other than that … I attended a very lovely coffee morning that one of the ladies in our compound organised so everyone could get to meet each other which was really nice of her … and its great to know who everyone is in our little compound community … so I’m glad we don’t have any crazy nightmare neighbours …

Oh and another piece of good news we will be having our first official guest staying with us next weekend … one of Perry’s friends Joe … who he met when he did the Mongol Rally years ago … is coming over for a long weekend … I’ve met Joe before when he came to visit while we were in London and he’s a really lovely guy so it will be great to have him over for a few days … we are both really looking forward to that …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetFinally we had our first uninvited visitor last night … yup … a gecko … I spotted the little guy just climbing up the wall and he parked himself up by the ceiling for a good while before scuttling off to who knows where … they are harmless enough so it wasn’t really a concern but I was curious as to how it would have gotten in the house … apparently Perry thinks it probably made its way through the AC ducts …

Anyway … this weekend I think isn’t going to be too exciting … we have a few logistical things to organise so there will be plenty of laptop time with Perry and I organising stuff for the next few months … but we will also be getting out and exploring a bit of more of Bahrain too I hope …

Anyway that is it for this post … I think I’ve probably rambled on for long enough … thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

