Knitting Adventures … Several Cowls … A Chevron Scarf & A Pair of Lacey Fingerless Mitts …

_MG_1461-1Hey everyone … so back again today with another knitting adventures update … this post is a bit of this and that sort … a few cowls … a scarf and a pair of fingerless mitts 🙂

_MG_1455-1First up are these fingerless mitts … these were really simple and took up a around 200m of fingering yarn … so really quite a quick knit too … it was also the first time I knit something on really small 2.5mm needles …

_MG_1503-1Having said that I decided to knit them two at a time … which was fine … but it wasn’t until I was about 3/4 of the way done that I realised I’d made two left handed mitts … which wouldn’t have been a problem except the lace is only on one side … so I had to rip one of them back to before I started the thumb to fix it …

_MG_1510-1It wasn’t too bad in the end and cause its quite a small project it didn’t take me too long to do that and fix it …

_MG_1458-1The pair are made from one ball of yarn which has pretty long colour changes which is why they don’t look the same …

_MG_1461-1

_MG_1440-1Next up is this simple slipped stitch cowl pattern in a really bright green … I had a lot of leftover yarn from the CABLED HAT I’d made out of this yarn so decided to try out this stitch pattern in a cowl …

_MG_1446-1I really liked the texture of the stitch pattern which makes quite a squishy fabric … and it was a simple knit and didn’t take too long to get finished either … I think I did most of it in one day actually … its one of those patterns that once you get going its easy to just keep going and doesn’t take too much concentration …

_MG_1514-1

_MG_1437-1Next up is this reversible cable cowl … I thought this was an interesting stitch pattern to learn how to do and with it being a 1×1 rib all the way though I decided it would be a good one to try and teach myself how to knit continental …

_MG_1431-1While I think I’ll always prefer knitting holding the yarn in my right hand … Its always good to know how to knit in a different way … and knowing how to knit with both hands is really handy (excuse the pun) for colourwork which I really want to try more of this year …

_MG_1434-1Anyway back to the cowl … it was quite fun but by the end I’d really had my fill of 1×1 ribbing … and while I think I’ve got the technique down for the continental style of knitting I’m definitely still much faster knitting with my right hand …

_MG_1528-1

Finally to share today is this simple Chevron Scarf … I had a lot of yarn leftover from when I made my first pair of socks last year and so I turned some of those leftovers into a fun scarf …

_MG_1397-1Again a really rather simple knitting pattern and one that once you get into it its really easy to just keep going while watching a movie or other things online …

_MG_1402-1I basically knit two halves and grafted them together at the middle so the ends are the same …

_MG_1408-1So that is it for this post … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

 

Leave a Reply

