Weekly Roundup … Bits & Pieces From The Last Few Days …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetHey everyone … welcome to another weekly roundup … to say last weekend was busy would be a massive understatement … it felt like we were on the go most of the time … but that just meant it ended up being really productive … which can never be a bad thing really …

I had researched a few places to check out … we were looking for some specific things for the house so I’d lined up a few hardware/DIY type stores … those for the most part turned out to be decent places and we’re both glad we figured out where they are now if we need to get anything particular it’ll be easier knowing exactly where to go get them …

We also wanted to start exploring some of the places to eat nearby where we live … specifically for breakfast … going out for Breakfast on the weekend was one of my favourite things to do in Dubai so while we can’t really walk anywhere here for food there are still plenty of spots nearby worth checking out … we started out with the Leyan Cafe at the Cypress Gardens …

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetCypress Gardens is a small group of restaurants/coffee shops with a small nursery just off the Budaiya highway near us … and the Leyan Cafe serves traditional Bahraini food for breakfast … and it seems breakfast is their main thing too …

IMG_0752

The food was really good and the settings were lovely … I also noticed we were probably the only non locals in the place as most of the other occupied tables had Bahraini families sat around them … always a good sign … I ended up trying their Shakshuka and Perry went for the Qeema … and we shared a pot of Chai Karak which was quite lovely with the food … all in all a nice little breakfast spot …

IMG_0744It was quite cold that weekend so I got the opportunity to wear some of my hand knits over the two days … namely my FEBRUARY LADY Cardigan and my CLOUD NINE LOOP Cowl … which was great …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There is a small old school style cinema nearby to where we are and so we decided to go see a film and check it out to see what it was like … so as it turns out it’s a pretty quiet cinema … as in we had the whole screen to ourselves … made a nice change from being disturbed by people answering their phones during the movie in Dubai …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetAnother thing that got done this weekend was unpacking the remaining boxes in the living room … you’ll have to tune in on Saturday to see how the cats reacted to getting their large Cat Tree back … but we finally got everything out and somewhat organised …  Perry even came up with an ingenious way to compress all the extra packaging into an empty box …

IMG_0760

A few other bits from this week …

IMG_0777

Spotted these little smoothies rocking some adorable tiny hats at the supermarket …

IMG_0762 IMG_0781Finally finished my Large Circular shawl I was working on with my Icelandic Yarn … more about that another time but it was probably the most stressed out I have ever been while knitting the last few rows of this thing …

IMG_0784

I got my blocking mats out and finally got round to blocking some of the latest things I have finished …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Sunset on the way home last weekend …

IMG_0765

Spotted on a wall as we were driving by … a sentiment I can agree with …

IMG_0793

I also finished my multicoloured hat that I was knitting on the treadmill … it was one I just sort of made up as I went along and I love how it turned out … I hadn’t planned it this way but it worked out perfectly so that it can be worn either slouchy or with the rim rolled up as a beanie … plus I couldn’t resist adding a massive pom pom on top …

Other than that this week hasn’t been too eventful … I didn’t get as much walking done on the treadmill as I had hoped … 3/5 days this week … but the days I did go were a real struggle and I’ve noticed my leg has been quite sore by the evenings so I’ve decided to try and take it a bit easier … plus I’ve not been feeling a 100% well either … my allergies have been acting up a lot this week which has made me feel quite groggy and bunged up …

I did get round to finally unpacking almost all of the remaining boxes left upstairs … mostly it was just our clothes left to be unpacked … so I unpacked everything I could … and all that is left is one box of my clothes … we have a large double wardrobe in our bedroom that is fitted … that fits all of Perry’s things in the shelving section plus the two half hight hanging section … I use the full height hanging section for my dresses etc but there isn’t space in the same wardrobe for the rest of my clothes …

A couple nights ago Perry made a trip to the nearest Ikea in Saudi Arabia after work to pick up a few things including a chest of drawers for our room … lets just say that trip to Ikea was quite an ordeal for him and its not likely to happen again for a long time so I’m very appreciative that he did go knowing it would be quite stressful for him …

So my point is this weekend we will have quite a bit of Ikea assembly to do and once that is done I’ll be able to unpack that last remaining box … and we can finish organising our room … there is still a lot to do around the place to make it feel like ‘home’ as it were … I think the next big thing we will need to tackle is getting some pictures up on the walls … I don’t want to rush that process as it were but I am looking forward to getting some stuff back up on the walls …

Anyway I think that pretty much covers it for this week … thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

 

Leave a Reply

