Knitting Adventures … The Angel Shawl …

_MG_0969-1So I’m back again with another Knitting Adventure project … this one was actually a lot of fun to make and had some new techniques that I hadn’t tried before so was also a pretty good learning experience along the way … this also happens to be the third pattern I’ve made from the Lovely Knitted Lace book (I’ve also made the Tulip Shawl and the Camellia Doleman) … This one is called the Angel Shawl … I hadn’t originally planned on making this one but as soon as I saw the yarn I knew this was the project for it …

The yarn was actually my Christmas gift from Perry’s sister Vicky … its 100% natural and un-dyed Alpaca yarn from her friend’s Alpaca farm … it was my first time working with Alpaca yarn and it was so beautiful and soft … with an incredible halo …

_MG_0972-1The shawl ended up being a little over 1m across in diameter … and its really lovely and lightweight but the Alpaca means it is also incredibly warm and insulating …

_MG_0978-1It was the first time I made a shawl in the round … and I have to say I really loved it … the other really new thing in this project was the nupps … I had never had to make these before and while not the easiest thing they weren’t the most difficult either as long as you get the tension right and dont pull them too tight …

_MG_0980-1The nupps give those little bobble bits on the shawl that you can see …

_MG_0986-1The edging is also really quite pretty too … the gathered stitch gives it an interesting change from the stitch pattern established previously …

_MG_0983-1

All in all I was excited to get this off the needles and block it … it literally took me less than a week of feverishly knitting this in bed while icing my leg at the beginning of January to make this …

_MG_0969-1It blocked out beautifully and the lace while a simple pattern is very pretty …

_MG_1223-1The shawl is great over the shoulders or wrapped from front to back to have a point at the front … which is most likely the way I would wear it …

_MG_1215-1That is it for this post … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Knitting Adventures … The Angel Shawl …

  1. Pingback: Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 1 – Getting Started – Shownotes … | Knitting Expat

Leave a Reply

