Weekly Roundup … Getting Settled … Exercise & Other Things …

IMG_0627Hey everyone … so its time for another weekly roundup … well since I last posted a lot has happened … mostly good and a few not so much along the way … nothing too bad though overall and otherwise we have been settling in nicely this week which has been great …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetLast week after I posted the movers showed up later in the afternoon … which was great as there had been a chance we wouldn’t have had our stuff delivered until the Sunday so it was a relief to have everything here for the weekend … and as it happened it took them exactly 2 weeks to get our furniture here from the day they took it from our apartment to the day it arrived here …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetBut as they arrived quite late they didn’t really have time to unpack … so they delivered our car … and unloaded all the furniture into the villa and I asked them to just put our bed back together before they left for the day …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset IMG_0565

It felt so good to be back in my own bed after 2 weeks on an air mattress … and the boys were really happy about it too … they were all over the bed after the movers left and both of them slept by our feet all night that evening … (they don’t usually do that) …

IMG_0560

This is what our downstairs looked like after they left … a maze of boxes …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetOver the weekend Perry and I checked out some of the local places … we headed over to City Centre Mall … which unsurprisingly is vey similar to the malls in Dubai …

Saturday morning the movers came back to finish unpacking the boxes … Perry and I spent most of the time unpacking the kitchen boxes and taking turns to let the movers know where certain things went … it ended up going pretty quickly and by about 2pm all of the big bits of furniture were unpacked … the only thing left was Perry’s office supplies, my crafting stuff, our clothes and the little bits and pieces that go in the bookshelf …

IMG_0627

The area where we live is quite close the Budaiya Highway … and there are so many little restaurants, stores and other places along there that we will have to explore over time … but by the time it got to Saturday evening we were heading back home and were quite hungry … so we thought we’d try one of the local fast food places called Burgerland … it wasn’t actually all that bad really for what it was … the fries were really delicious …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetOver this last week I’ve been slowly unpacking some of the boxes and tidying things … but I’ve had quite a bit of work stuff to do so the unpacking has been a little slower than I’d like …

We had some issues with our water pressure earlier in the week which turned out to be because of a leaking pipe … so the onsite maintenance guy was in and out of our villa for a couple days sorting that out … its actually really handy having him around … whenever something goes wrong he’s pretty quick to fix it …

Oh and while most of our furniture got here ok a couple things did get a little dinged up along the way … including a new chip in the car’s paintwork … so were probably going to take some time over the weekend to check the rest of our stuff and make sure nothing else is damaged before letting the moving company know about that … it should be fine as we get the insurance …

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We had some of the sweetest watermelon for desert one evening … it was so good … I actually should go back to the supermarket and get some more … and I had a lovely surprise when I visited Costa and they gave me a little chocolate with my coffee … apparently that is pretty standard in Bahrain …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I’ve also been getting used to the fact that its actually quite cold in Bahrain compared to Dubai … more so in the early morning and evenings … I guess there are a few factors to this … one the villa is much larger than the flat and with a lot of tiling throughout … so the place gets quite cold anyway … that coupled with temperatures below 20C for most of the week has meant I’ve gotten a fair bit of use out of my knitwear  the last few days …

IMG_0693

Speaking of knitting … I’ve also been making some good progress on another of my knitting projects …

IMG_0676

Another thing that we’ve been adjusting too is getting our sleeping pattern in sync … Perry has to leave quite early in the morning to beat the traffic to work so we’ve been trying to get to bed at a sensible time (aka before 10.30pm) … and I’ve been waking up at the same time as Perry in the mornings (usually between 5.30-6am) while I probably wont get out of bed until around 6.30am when he leaves I am awake …

I have always quite liked the idea of being a morning person … whenever I’ve gotten up early I always feel like I get a lot of stuff done in the day … so I decided to start using the treadmill in the compound gym (which is really just a room with one treadmill, one weights machine and nothing else) … I decided to start easy with just 30-45mins a day walking … the main aim here is to start strengthening up my leg and building exercise back into my life … its been too long since I’ve done regular exercise and I’m hoping this will be a good way to work it in …

I started by just watching some video podcasts I’d downloaded onto my phone … which was fine but it wasn’t really keeping my interest off the fact that I was walking … and I’d keep checking the time to see when I could stop … which I knew would eventually mean I’d stop doing it …

IMG_0722

I then decided to switch to audio podcasts and started up a simple knitting project … so this morning for the first time I did my walking while listening to an audio podcast and did some simple knitting at the same time … and I think I found the perfect compromise in this scenario … the audio podcast gives me something to listen to and the knitting means my hands aren’t bored while I walk … and this morning I easily did 45mins without even worrying about it …

IMG_0726I’ve also got an app on my phone that tracks my steps … its not as accurate as a fitbit would be and I have to remember to carry my phone everywhere (otherwise it wont register the steps) but its accurate enough for now … I’ve currently set a modest target of around 5,000 steps a day and I’ll probably increase that gradually up to 10,000 initially (which is how many steps you should be doing every day) … I find at the moment if I do more than 7,000 steps my leg feels really sore and quite painful the next day so I can’t walk as much (as you can probably tell from the picture above) … I’m slowly working my way up and am happy with it so far … I’ve already noticed my leg is feeling better so I’m looking forward to working on this some more over the next few weeks …

As for this weekend … well we still have a fair bit of unpacking to do … and a bunch of things we need to get so it’ll be a mix of errands and organising I’d say … which isn’t the worst thing …

That is it for this week … hope you’ve all had a good one …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

