Knitting Adventures … The Camellia Dolman Cardigan …

_MG_1356-1Hey everyone … so I had meant to post this earlier this week but a few other things and work stuff got in the way … anyway back now … I actually knit this cardigan way back in November when Perry’s family were over … it was from a book called Lovely Knitted Lace and this pattern was pretty much the main reason why I bought the book in the first place … I’ve knit a total of 3 projects from this book so far and one more already lined up … so I’d say it was pretty good value for money from that perspective … (the other one I’ve knit and already shared is the TULIP SHAWL … I’m sharing the third one later this week) …

_MG_7094-1In any case this project is called the Cameillia Dolman Cardigan … its knit in a very fine mohair yarn and it took me about 3ish weeks of working on this obsessively … the pattern itself wasn’t too difficult and the instructions were very well written and clear …

_MG_7097-1The difficult part of this project was the yarn … because it is so fine it did cut into my fingers alot so if I’d been knitting on it for a long time in one sitting I’d end up with some really sore spots and dents in my fingers …

_MG_7100-1In reality the yarn is a quite dark green colour but for some reason it came up much lighter in all the pictures … but I do love how the lace pattern came out …

_MG_1360-1 _MG_7100-1It was knit flat in almost a circle shape and then once your finished it just takes a little bit of strategic seaming to create openings for the sleeves and sewing on some buttons to turn it into a cardigan …

_MG_1374-1 _MG_1364-1

There are a couple reasons why I hadn’t shared this project until now … firstly I finished it off just before we left for Iceland … then as you all know by now I broke my leg so I wasn’t able to get pictures wearing it after we got back … mostly because we were busy with my family over and whenever we did have the time I didn’t have the energy for it … and finally because I didn’t like the buttons I had put on it … I didn’t have the exact kind I wanted so I put some on temporarily until I had time to go get different ones …

_MG_1382-1 _MG_1369-1In the end I decided to just take the pictures before we moved and would deal with the buttons later …

_MG_1389-1

Its ridiculously lightweight for the size it is … it weighs less than 150grams … but don’t let the lace deceive you it is insanely warm … I’m really happy with how it turned out and am just looking forward to finally getting to replace the buttons once I dig it out of whichever box it is hiding in … (we still have a lot of boxes to unpack and I have yet to locate all my knitting things) …

That is it for this post … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … The Camellia Dolman Cardigan …

  1. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … The Angel Shawl … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 1 – Getting Started – Shownotes … | Knitting Expat

Leave a Reply

