Weekly Roundup … Last Bits in Dubai & First Few Days in Bahrain …

IMG_0499Hey everyone … its been a busy week … lots of stuff happening but its all been good thankfully … last weekend kinda flew by in a bit of a blur … met up with the knitting ladies for the last time on Thursday evening … and had dinner with Terri and Cliff on the Friday before we left … Perry spent most of Saturday morning running round to cancel our internet and other stuff …

We had our last Breakfast down at The Beach on Saturday morning … I had wanted to try out Eggspectation for ages and we finally managed to go … and it was so good …

IMG_0439 IMG_0437Sunday morning Perry left and I had to say goodbye to the boys later that morning as the boys got picked up by the pet relocating company  … that was quite an emotional event … Hugo really struggled as I tried to put him in the box while Derek was absolutely terrified but barely resisted … thankfully the company we used were great and I got pretty regular updates from them throughout the day as to how they were doing …

I finished packing up the last of our stuff at the apartment and waited for the landlords agent to come by and do the final handover … once that was all done I headed on over to Stef and Bas’s home where I was going to stay for my last night in Dubai … it was actually really nice to spend my last afternoon/evening at theirs not only for the good company but also because I wasn’t left on my own in an empty apartment missing the cats … at least when I am at Stef’s I don’t expect the cats to be there so it made things a little easier for me …

IMG_0474Made it Bahrain fine the next morning … once I got my bags and and everything … I managed to sort myself out with a local phone number and picked up my rental car … by which point I got the phone call from the Pet relocating company on the Bahrain side to let me know the boys had gotten through customs on this end and would be with me back at the villa in a couple hours …

So I pretty much headed straight for the villa and got our room setup quickly before the boys arrived … We decided to keep them contained to our room/bathroom for the first few days till they get nicely acclimatised to the change … we didn’t want to suddenly overwhelm them with the whole villa all at once …

IMG_0499The boys arrived all ok and seemed happy enough to see me … they appear to be settling in ok but I think they will be much happier once they get their cat trees and boxes back … I’ve spent the last few days getting used to having stairs again … exploring the neighbourhood and nearby places (including the local supermarkets with colourful veggies) … and giving the boys a lot of attention …

IMG_0522Derek however seems to have turned into the most talkative cat at 2am … its been a little bit crazy … he meows constantly at night and progressively gets louder and louder until you pay him some attention … and that is all it is … he just wants attention … last night was actually the first time in a while that I was able to sleep through without him waking me up …

IMG_0541In other news I’ve finished up a couple of knitting projects since last week … I haven’t had a chance to block them yet so I don’t have proper photos to share yet … but I took this one of the shawl I finished last night …

We got news earlier this week that we may have a chance at getting our furniture delivered by today so Perry came back to the villa on Tuesday night so we could decide where things should go incase they did deliver it today … at the time it seemed like quite a slim chance … but thankfully it all seems to have worked out ok and our furniture is currently on its was here from the port … I am actually beyond excited to get to sleep in my own bed again tonight … my back has had enough of this airbed …

As for this weekend were probably going to be spending much of it unpacking … and getting settled … maybe meet some of the neighbours … who knows … but whatever happens I’ll be sure to let you know about it next week …

So on that note I have to cut this short and get ready cause the movers will be getting here in the next 20mins or so … eek …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

