Weekly Roundup … The Week of the Watermelon Socks …

IMG_0289Hey everyone … so its been a good week … last weekend was good fun overall and this week has pretty much flown by … not too eventful but I’ll get to why that is in a bit … this weekend coming up is our last official weekend living in Dubai and it is set to be quite busy it seems … but that’s not necessarily a bad thing …

Anyway last weekend there was a Knitting Amiras meetup at the Lime Tree Cafe … which was a lot of fun … to start with Mel and Marina were so lovely and gifted me some amazing project bags that they made themselves as a leaving present … the one from Mel is a project bag specifically designed for knitting socks two at a time … its got a divider in the middle to stop the two balls of yarn from getting tangled which is amazing … not to mention its covered in pictures of sock monkeys! … and Marina’s project bag is really roomy and I love the neon coloured balls of yarn all over it …

IMG_0297

Jocy and I started on our watermelon socks that morning … I can’t even remember how we got onto the topic at the last meetup but she happened to mention she had some watermelon yarn … I then mentioned that I’d been dying to get my hands on some … and I think I may have actually squeeled when she said she had a spare hank of it as she’d ordered two a while ago …

IMG_0291So we decided to start knitting the socks together that morning as a little knit-a-long … anyway the day flew by and it was a lot of fun … one of the ladies brought along her Golden Retriever puppy Sherlock who is the best at giving you those puppy dog eyes begging you to feed him … I mean its so hard to say no to that face …

IMG_0289

Mel was having a moment with her multi coloured beautiful yarn she’d won at the swap we had a couple weeks ago …

IMG_0292By the end of the afternoon I was a almost halfway done with the foot of my sock … (photo below is from before I finished for the day)

IMG_0296That evening Perry and I were heading out for dinner with our friends Paul and Sarah who we hadn’t seen in ages … we ended at the British seafood restaurant Geales …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The food was good … I ended up with the fish and chips … which was lovely although not as good as how my Dad used to make it …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

The drinks weren’t half bad either … although as Perry put it their Gin cocktails came in what looked like little fish bowls …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAnyway so we spent Saturday morning with Stef, Bas and the girls down at the Beach … I was due to take some family pictures for them back in October when the girls turned two but due to numerous reasons this kept getting pushed back so finally we decided to make time for it before we leave …

It was a lovely morning spent down at the beach … the weather was beautiful and we had a late breakfast after at the Cheesecake factory … Perry and I ended up going to the cinema later that afternoon and spent the rest of the time at home with the kittens …

They were having a hard time settling in with the new arrangement but having Perry around seemed to help them relax a bit more which was nice … although Derek has very much found his voice and will happily walk around the empty living room at night meowing away loudly … its almost impossible to sleep through …

Anyway the rest of this week has been pretty uneventful … other than I’ve been obsessed with knitting these watermelon socks … by the end of Sunday I’d finished the foot and had turned the heel …

IMG_0365

Then it took a couple more days but by the end of Tuesday I’d finally cast them both off the needles and I had a finished pair of socks …

IMG_0408They are amazing … they are quite snug on the foot which I like … I do think I should have probably done something a little stretchier on the ankle but its not really an issue … I think that will go away once the swelling in my left leg goes down … (thats the leg thats feels a bit tighter) … they did turn out a little longer than I had originally planned but I didn’t want to have an awkward amount of yarn left over … so I basically kept going till I almost had nothing left …

IMG_0405

That little pile of yarn above is all thats left … which I was really chuffed about …

That pretty much sums up my week … as I said not too eventful … I have another little evening knitting meetup tonight which should be good fun … it’ll be my last one before I leave which is quite sad … but I know I’ll be back again …

Then this weekend we’re catching up with more friends to say goodbye … sorting out some final things with the apartment and we will be trying to fit in some last minute things we want to do before we go …

That is it for this week … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

