Knitting Adventures … My February Lady Cardigan & Cloud Nine Loop Cowl …

_MG_1422-1Hey everyone … so I realised I am actually really quite far behind in posting about the knitting I’ve been doing … as in I still have stuff I made back in November I haven’t shared yet … so in an effort to catch up I’m going to try and do a couple knitting posts a week for the next couple weeks and hopefully by the time I’m all caught up we will be in Bahrain (fingers crossed our furniture will have also arrived) where I’ll be able to block the stuff I’m currently working on to share then …

These two projects that I am sharing today were both finished in January … I actually managed to finish 20 projects in the month of January … I’m not really sure how I managed that but I seemed to have been flying through them last month …

_MG_1346-1First up is my February Lady Sweater Cardigan … mine is actually a very heavily modified version of the pattern … one of the reasons I picked this pattern to make is its constructed in my favourite possible way … top down and all in one piece … so there is no fiddly seaming of pieces at the end and uncertainty as to whether or not it would even fit … which is a problem I had before on a cardigan I made …

_MG_1334-1I quite like to have a paper pattern to work from so I can cross out sections when I’ve finished it and to also be able to make notes on any changes I make as I go through it … Very rarely do I ever knit a pattern exactly as it is written … usually I’ll do something a little different … and this is definitely an example of that … the original cardigan is designed to be very baggy and loose with 3/4 length sleeves that were also baggy and loose …

_MG_1322-1I liked the lace pattern on the cardigan and the style at the top but I wasn’t too keen on the overly baggy look for me or the 3/4 length wide sleeves either … its just not the most flattering for my body type … I also like my cardigans to be long so my back is covered properly …

_MG_1349-1A bunch of the ladies at the knitting group I go to had all knit this cardigan already so it was great to learn from them what worked and what didn’t when they made it …

_MG_1342-1So in the end the modifications I made were – I made the size smaller than my actual size and omitted the eyelet increase row, which made the top part fit better without being baggy – I made the body much longer than in the pattern – I made the sleeves full length and added in some sleeve shaping so it wouldn’t be baggy on the arms – I also made the cuffs of the cardigan and sleeves bigger because I liked it that way …

_MG_1330-1All in all I am really happy with how this one turned out … it fits great and its really warm and soft … I have got some different buttons for it though as these ones are not particularly smooth so they keep snagging on the yarn … I didn’t get them in time to replace them before taking these pictures though …

_MG_1541-1Next up is the Cloud Nine Loop Cowl … as soon as I saw this pattern I knew I had to make it … and I used this really soft and squishy Alpaca and Silk blend yarn that I got in Purple … it was a difficult pattern to start with but after a few rows it fell into place …

_MG_1419-1_MG_1534-1It soon became quite easy to read the stitches and figure out where everything lined up as I went along … I love how it turned out and yarn has really lovely drape to it too …

_MG_1417-1This is probably one of my favourite cowls that I’ve made so far … its really light and airy but also incredibly warm at the same time …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

3 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … My February Lady Cardigan & Cloud Nine Loop Cowl …

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … Bits & Pieces From The Last Few Days … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … Bits & Pieces From The Last Few Days … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Knitting Expat Podcast – Episode 1 – Getting Started – Shownotes … | Knitting Expat

Leave a Reply

