Knitting Adventures … Some Socks …

_MG_0868-1Hey everyone … so I’m back today to share some more of my knitting adventures … in particular with knitting Socks … I’d been wanting to make a pair of socks for a while and finally I started my first ‘proper’ pair just before we left for Iceland … I actually finished them on the plane ride back home …

_MG_0864-1I did try to get them matching but after a lot of faffing around with the yarn I gave up and just cast on and got going with them … it was only after having knit a few inches that I realised the two balls of yarn I was knitting from had been wound up in opposite directions which meant the stripe pattern was going in opposite directions … not the end of the world really … and I don’t mind so its fine …

_MG_0885-1 _MG_0871-1 _MG_0874-1

They were easy enough to knit and I really enjoyed it … I used the Short Row Heel method for these ones and knit them two at a time from the toe up … I definitely know that Toe Up and Two at a Time is always going to be my preferred method to make socks but I wasn’t 100% happy with the short row heel … it doesn’t lay flat and I was getting some holes in the sides that I didn’t like too much …

_MG_0881-1 _MG_0876-1_MG_1280-1So for my next pair I tried the traditional Heel and Gusset style construction … and I preferred this so much more … it laid flat better and I didn’t get any holes in my socks either which was great …

_MG_1296-1 _MG_1311-1 _MG_1286-1Also instead of just doing a plain sock I inserted a simple lace pattern to the foot and leg to make it more interesting for me to knit …

_MG_1304-1

Both pairs are warm and cosy and it was quite fun to make … I’ll certainly be making more socks … I already have another three pairs lined up …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

4 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Some Socks …

Leave a Reply

