Knitting Adventures … My Hospital Cowl & The Large Tulip Shawl …

_MG_0958-1Hey everyone … so I finally got round to taking photos of all my recently finished knitting projects … and by recent I mean everything I’ve made since I broke my leg … it turns out there is a lot of time for knitting when your not able to get around to do much else … also incredibly grateful I didn’t break an arm … cause then what would I do?

_MG_0902-1Anyway starting off with this Linen Stitch cowl in three colours … I actually started this on the flight back from London to Dubai … and finished it while I was in hospital after my surgery … so its been dubbed my hospital cowl …

_MG_0892-1 _MG_0896-1It was such an easy and quick knit … once I got the flow with the pattern which is a really simple two row repeat I just ended up flying through it …

_MG_0901-1 _MG_1116-1Its soft and squishy and the fabric doesn’t roll which I really like … I can definitely see myself making more of these in different colourways …

_MG_0952-1Next up is this massive Tulip Shawl … I struggled to get it all into one picture … I made this from a book I got from Dubai Mall called Lovely Knitted Lace … I’ve actually made three projects from this book so far but haven’t gotten round to sharing the others yet …

_MG_0950-1 _MG_0955-1 _MG_0962-1This was actually one of the more basic patterns they had in the book but I quite liked the simple tulip shapes in the shawl design …

_MG_0958-1 _MG_0964-1Having said that there was something a bit odd with the pattern towards the end as it ended up going a little off centre at the border … thankfully the yarn is variegated enough that it doesn’t really show up too badly …

_MG_1204-1 _MG_1207-1I like the end result … its warm and cuddly and thats really what you want from a shawl … plus I love the slightly muted colours as well … cause its quite large too it can be worn a few different ways …

_MG_1212-1That is it for now … I’ll be back with more knitting updates later …

Till next time …

Mina X

7 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … My Hospital Cowl & The Large Tulip Shawl …

  1. Really love that linen stitch cowl. I’d probably try it with self-striping yarn because weaving in ends would drive me nuts! The tulip shawl is really cozy. I need to make one for myself! Oh and if you break an arm, which I hope would NEVER EVER happen, you must start knitting with your feet. Even then, I bet you would be knitting up a storm! See you soon!

    • There actually aren’t that many ends to the cowl you just carry the yarn throughout so its just the three ends at the start and at the end 🙂

      I’ve already broken my arms three times so I think I’ve hit my lifetime quota for broken limbs now…

      • Don’t sugarcoat the weaving ends bit! Ends are ends, no matter how you look at them. Hehehe. But I do love the solid colours and textures of your cowl. I need to find a way of getting rid of the ends.

      • Oh come on it takes all of two mins to weave them in when your done!

        Alternatively knit it in a tube and kitchener graft the ends to make a double thick cowl and hide the weds inside so no weaving… That could work?

  2. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … The Camellia Dolman Cardigan … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … The Angel Shawl … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

