Weekly Roundup … Lots of Good Food … Last Few Days With Family & Managing On My Own …

IMG_7632-1Hey everyone … so lots to catch you guys up on this week … last weekend ended up being a rather busy one … it was the last one my family were in Dubai for and Perry and I even squeezed in a trip to Bahrain to find somewhere for us to move to next month … all in all though it was a good weekend and this week hasn’t been as hard as I had thought it would be on my own without any help …

But back to last week … on New Years Day I took my Mum to Mall of the Emirates to pick up a few things from Homecentre … mainly glassware … in fact I became a pretty good substitute for a trolley …

IMG_7609-1Later at home my Mum helped me wind some of the hanks of yarn I had … my brother got me a ball winder for Christmas and I had a few hanks of yarn that needed to be wound up into balls before I could use them … so my Mum became my temporary swift holding the yarn up while I wound it up …

20141231_144502-1She said it reminded her of being a child and having to sit there and do this for her Mum when she was winding up her yarn for knitting … she never thought she’d have to do this again let alone for her daughter … not that she minded …

20141231_145729-1This yarn is so pretty and I’m looking for the perfect project to knit it for …

IMG_7632-1Later that evening my Brother took us out for dinner to Bayt Al Mezza in Downtown Dubai … it was mine and Perry’s first time here but my Brother had been several times before with his friends and wanted to take us all for dinner …

20150101_221034-1It was actually really good food … we ordered a variety of stuff to share on the table and really everything we tried was pretty awesome …

20150101_220554-1I particularly loved the Fatoush salad they did … its surprisingly hard to find somewhere that does a good fatoush salad around here … oh and their mint lemonade is probably one of the best I’ve had in Dubai …

20150101_215500-1Friday morning we all headed out to Little More for breakfast … its really nice there in the mornings as its in the shade … the food is good and we weren’t too badly bothered by the flies (the only down side to winter in Dubai) …

IMG_7647-1Otherwise the day turned out differently than we had originally planned … but I think overall it worked in our favour … in the morning as we were getting ready to go out for breakfast to Little More I got a text message from the company I had booked a boat trip with for my family … the same one I did with Perry’s FAMILY … but the message was to confirm the boat trip for that day … I thought I’d booked it for Sunday but it turns out something got confused when we were booking the dates and we got the Friday in the end … which turned out to be great because Perry was too ill to go on the trip when his family were here … so he was able to go with my family this time while I stayed at home and rested my leg … cause frankly there was no way I was going to be able to get on that boat without causing myself more injury …

IMG_7655-1 IMG_8483-1 IMG_7670-1 FullSizeRender copy 4-1 FullSizeRender_1 copy 2-1 IMG_8401-1

My brother even decided to go for a little swim too …

FullSizeRender copy 2-1 IMG_8478-1 IMG_8480-1

IMG_8495-1After that Perry & my Brother swung round the apartment to pick me up and we met up with the rest of my family at the Marriot Hotel in the Marina to go for dinner at the Observatory restaurant …

20150102_174125-1Food was lovely as always … I have to say it is one of my favourite places to take visitors when they come to Dubai … the food is always great and the views are pretty amazing too … especially around sunset …

As for the Saturday well my family were left to fend for themselves for the most part … Perry and I left really early in the morning for the airport and spent the day in Bahrain … we found ourselves a villa to move to which has been a huge relief … but I’m not going to share any more about that yet … once its all been finalised and I’m sure its all ok I’ll probably share a little more details on that one … but we did celebrate a little by trying out this new Burger place called Caliburger …

20150103_124421-1It was delicious … not the cheapest place to get a burger but its pretty darn tasty …

IMG_0033-1 IMG_0031-1My parents ended up doing the Desert Safari that afternoon … I’d booked it for them earlier that week and I am so glad they finally got to go … I’d wanted to do this with my Mum last time she was over and it didn’t work out then … and this time I’d gone and broken my leg … so I didn’t think she would go … thankfully my Dad decided after they got here that he would like to go … initially he wasn’t too keen on the idea … but after they got home that evening he was raving about how much fun he had …

IMG_8518-1 IMG_0037-1 FullSizeRender copy 3-1

From the photos it seems like they had a great time too …

FullSizeRender_3-1I was pretty much knackered by the time I got home on Saturday night … I spent most of Sunday at home resting up … my Family did head down to the beach one last time to enjoy the sunshine …

3fd3071b1b2a6cdd401b3362a59bae8c-1

My Dad and brother sent me this hilarious photo of them from one of the photobooths on the beach … it was a nice surprise when this popped up in my inbox …

Later that night we all headed out together for dinner at the Cheesecake Factory one last time … and as it turns out for DSF (Dubai Shopping Festival) this year (which is throughout the month of January) they are having fireworks every night at 8.30pm down at The Beach along JBR … the last few years they’ve been up at the Creek … this year they decided to move it to the Marina … which means I get to hear it go off every night this month from the apartment … in any case we got to see them for ourselves while we were sat on the terrace waiting for our dinner …

My family left late that night to catch their flights back home … it was sad to see them leave and I was a little apprehensive about being on my own for the rest of the week till Perry gets back tonight … but actually its not been too bad … the freezer and fridge is stocked with food so I was fine in that regard and I don’t have trouble getting around the apartment on my own anyway so it has been easier than I’d anticipated …

I have a couple things I will need to leave the house for next week during the weekdays so that will be interesting to see how I can cope with those situations on my own …

Anyway this post is long enough already … so I’m going to leave it there … hope you are all having a lovely week and a great start to the New Year … 2015 is set to be an exciting year for us … I’m looking forward to it …

Till next time …

Mina X

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

