Weekly Roundup Time … Random Bits & Pieces With The Family …

IMG_7259-1Hey everyone … welcome to another weekly roundup … and a massive HAPPY NEW YEAR to you all … 2014 was a pretty amazing year for us overall (lets just ignore the broken leg situation for now) … and I’m really looking forward to the adventures we have ahead in 2015 …

But first off to recap this final week of 2014 … one thing I did manage to get done this last week was finalise a short video clip of our trip to Iceland … I meant to post it with the last ICELAND post I did at the start of last week but forgot … so here it is … the footage was mostly taken by Perry on his phone …

It was such a fun trip … and Perry loves the fact that I look like a giant blue Tele-tubby at the end of the clip …

Back to this week …

IMG_7143-1

Dad and Brother at the beach … enjoying the waves …

20141224_215056-1

Some of my Mum’s home cooking which I have to say has been really awesome …

IMG_7129-1

My Dad seems to have fallen in love with our view … spends a lot of his time on our balcony …

IMG_7241-1 IMG_7243-1

Since being in the wheelchair I have to say its become really apparent how unfriendly this city is to those who are in a wheelchair … even just going down to the beach to go for dinner can be a bit of a struggle … let alone going somewhere like Madinat Jumeirah … I could get round most of the shopping mall part but to get down to where the restaurants are you have to take stairs … so Perry and I waited while my family went for a wander around … we hadn’t gone there to eat anyway it was just to go see the place and walk around …

IMG_7239-1 20141226_185053-1

The height of boxing day TV in Dubai …

IMG_7315-1

Have to say I may not be able to do much around the house but I have been getting a lot of knitting done …

IMG_7154-1

My Mum made Aash … which is a thick kind of Iranian soup which I love … its delicious and theres a bunch in the freezer for me too … she’s been slowly stocking up my freezer for me so I should have plenty of food after my family leave …

IMG_7153-1 IMG_7263-1 IMG_7259-1 IMG_7389-1

On Saturday night before Perry left back for Saudi Arabia we headed out to the Cheesecake factory for dinner … it was my Dad’s first experience of the place and I think he really enjoyed it …

20141227_205715-1 IMG_7414-1Earlier this week we ended up having what I call a Fridge Party … basically eating all the leftovers we’ve kept in the fridge from the last couple days … it was good cause we pretty much had enough for the four of us to have dinner that night …

Other than that this week has been pretty chilled out for me … I’ve realised I can’t keep pushing myself to do too much too soon and I really ought to be resting my leg as much as I possibly can … so I’ve been spending the last 2-3 days mostly in bed …

My brother has been taking my parents out here and there and a couple days ago my Dad seemed to have caught a cold so they’ve been taking it easy too … basically the last few days have been pretty mellow … which isn’t a bad way to end the year …

As for this weekend … well we don’t have much planned other than dinner on Friday night at the Observatory … on Saturday Perry and I are flying to Bahrain to go view houses … I’m only going for the day but Perry will then stay cause he’s got to be back for work on Sunday anyway … so it should be interesting to see how well I can get around with this leg and all …

I’ve been getting better at using the crutches to get me around and am trying to rely less on the wheelchair when I’m at home … I’ve realised that after my family leave I will need to be able to do a bunch of things for myself during the week when Perry is away so I’m starting to work on that now so that once my family have gone home it won’t be such a struggle for me …

That is it for this week … hope you are all having a wonderful start to the New Year and hope you have an amazing year ahead …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

