Knitting Adventures … Philipp Family Christmas Presents …

_MG_5250-1Hey everyone … so we had Early Christmas at our home this weekend … With all of Perry’s Family over at the moment we thought it would be fun to have an early Christmas celebration …

Part of what I decided to do this year for Christmas gifts was to make everyone knitted presents … I’m actually really quite chuffed with how it all turned out … I did start early with making everything … I actually started in Mid September … I knew we were going to have a busy four months with visitors from October – December so I’m really glad I got an early start on everything …

_MG_5106-1So for Pat (Perry’s Mum) I made this Horizontal Pleat long Cowl … I got the stitch pattern from a book I have at home and basically made up the rest of the cowl design myself …

_MG_5270-1I decided to make the cowl in the same colours as the hat I made for Pat that Perry took back on his quick trip to LONDON

_MG_5107-1 _MG_5109-1

I really love the stitch pattern … it almost looks like little moguls that you get on a ski slope …

_MG_5258-1The cowl turned out really soft and cuddly … and I loved the construction of the horizontal pleats … it was a really fun enjoyable knitting project …

_MG_5263-1

_MG_5148-1For Perry’s Sister Vicky I made this HOURGLASS cowl …

_MG_5152-1 _MG_5257-1This was another new to me stitch pattern and I love how it turned out … I wasn’t sure at first but after finishing a couple repeats you could really see the pattern showing up …

_MG_5155-1I also really loved the diagonal rib detail on the edges too …

_MG_5241-1 _MG_5252-1

It can easily be worn around the neck doubled up … and its wide enough that you can even use the second wrap as a hood to cover your head in the rain or if its really windy too …

_MG_5246-1 _MG_5249-1 _MG_5250-1

 

I absolutley love the colour of this yarn too … its not quite red and not quite pink either … its a nice muted red colour that doesn’t look too strong …

_MG_5074-1For Chris (Vicky’s Boyfriend) I made this Red Basket Weave pillow … again no pattern to link for this one … I just made a pillow design using the basket weave pattern … sewed up a lining and stuffed the final pillow …

_MG_5077-1 _MG_5080-1I made this at Vicky’s suggestion … hopefully it will go nicely in Chris’s game room back home in the UK …

_MG_6325-1For Patrick (Perry’s Dad) … I made him a pair of THICK SLIPPER SOCKS in the Southampton FC colours …

_MG_6336-1 _MG_6331-1These are my first proper sock type pattern that I have tried to make … using slightly thicker yarn as well means they should be nice and snuggly for wearing around the house during the cold winters …

_MG_6339-1They turned out better than I had hoped and I actually liked the wrap and turn construction of the toe & heel sections of the socks …

_MG_5082-1Finally for their cats (Perry’s Parents have one while Vicky and Chris have two) I made these little MOUSE PLAY TOYS … so hopefully they will have some fun playing with those …

_MG_5084-1 _MG_5089-1These were fun to knit if a little fiddly at times … but they are a good way to use up some scraps of yarn left over from other projects …

_MG_5092-1They are really quick too … the two of them probably only took a little over an hour including the finishing details …

Anyway … that is it for this post … I think I’ve enough in this one already … I’ll be back soon to show you what I made Perry for his Early Christmas gift …

Thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Knitting Adventures … Philipp Family Christmas Presents …

  1. Pingback: Early Christmas Celebrations & Saffron Brunch At The Atlantis Hotel … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

