Sewing Adventures Aged 12 & 13 … A Little Throwback …

Mina & Barbak 3So remember back when I posted about getting my SEWING MACHINE and I mentioned how I’d done a bit of sewing when I was at school … well it appears my memory wasn’t quite correct on all of the details …

After my Mum read my post from a couple weeks ago I got an email from her with these pictures attached … so I thought I’d share these here as well …

Mina & Barbak 1As it turns out I did Textiles at school for two years not just one … and I did it for Year 7 and 8 and not in Year 9 … not sure how that got all mixed up in my head … anyway … so in Year 7 I finished the class project really quickly and my teacher Mrs Sinclair basically let me make whatever else I wanted … so I ended up making these shorts for my brother to match a shirt my Mum had made him … I then got to walk him down the cat walk at our school’s fashion show …

Mina & Barbak 2 Mina & Barbak 3So in these photos above I was 13 and my Brother was almost 10 … I even wrote a note on the back of one of the photos to remember …

Mina's note back of Pic.The second set of photos I’d completely forgotten about until I saw the pictures … In Year 8 I’d made this skirt and halter top for myself …

Mina sawing 1My Mum tells me she’s still got these stored away somewhere in the attic …

Mina sawing 3 Mina sawing 5 Mina Sawing 4

These pictures brought back some fun memories and it was great to remember what I’d done over 14 years ago (now I feel very old) …

Anyway I’m sure I’ll be back soon with some sewing projects I’ve been working on soon … that is it for now and thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

