Knitting Adventures … Muh Muhs Shawl & Ice Cream Sundae Hat …

_MG_5726-1Hey everyone … so among all the Christmas Presents I’ve been knitting lately I slipped in a couple of items for myself too … I wanted to make myself a warm shawl/scarf and hat combo for when we got to Iceland and so this is what I came up with …

_MG_5700-1I made the MUH MUHS shawl/scarf … its so pretty …

_MG_5719-1I love the colours together and fell in love with the shawl/scarf pattern as soon as I saw the picture … the bulky weight of yarn it requires meant it would be really warm and snuggly too … I didn’t have bulky yarn so just doubled up on some thinner yarn the get the right size …

_MG_5716-1 _MG_5713-1It knitted up really quickly … if only because it was a bulky knit on large needles … but considering it is predominately in garter stitch it was simple …

_MG_5711-1The lace border at the bottom edge was also quite fun to knit … it wasn’t too complicated but gives a nice finish to the overall finished item …

_MG_5631-1 _MG_5635-1Since Ghazaleh was here I had her model them for me …

_MG_5721-1 _MG_5625-1To go with the scarf/shawl I made this ICE CREAM SUNDAE HAT … again really quick to knit up … it was a pretty basic fair isle pattern which I enjoyed … I had just enough of the rosey red yarn left to make this hat too …

_MG_5680-1 _MG_5685-1 _MG_5692-1

I did end up altering the pattern quite a bit as I didn’t have the right yarn it required … I ended up making it quite baggy at the back … which is great for if I have my hair up as it will all fit fine …

_MG_5628-1 _MG_5614-1I love the hat … its warm and soft and squishy … it matches with the scarf without being too matchy matchy … and I loved the scalloped stripe pattern which i thought looked much more interesting than regular stripes …

_MG_5616-1 _MG_5622-1

That is it for this post … My Auntie Lida brought my snowboarding clothes for me … so now I am pretty much set for Iceland … I’m planning on making some warm mittens to take too but I have a few other projects to finish first before I get to that one …

Thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … Muh Muhs Shawl & Ice Cream Sundae Hat …

Leave a Reply

