The Contagion Run … Dressing Up Like Zombies for a 5km Run …

DSC04481-1So as you all are probably aware of by now Perry and I took part in the Contagion Run on Halloween … its 5km run based on there being Survivors being chased by Zombies trying to cat their “lives” while having to tackle an obstacle course to get to the end of the 5km with atleast one life in tact having started with 3 lives (tags) …

DSC04457-1 DSC04459-1 DSC04458-1Perry and I not being runners at all opted to be Zombies … because that is way more fun anyway … we got there early enough before the race began to get our makeup and stuff done … then we spent some time hanging around watching the other Zombies getting ready …

DSC04461-1 DSC04478-1 DSC04481-1All in all I have to say for a first time event in Dubai it was really well organised … there are things that could have been done better … but considering it was the first time this event was run and with over 300 Zombies to wrangle and organise on the day … I think the guys running the show didn’t do too bad a job …

DSC04484-1 DSC04486-1 DSC04491-1 DSC04492-1There were plenty of people doing the make up so you weren’t waiting around for too long … there was quite a bit of shade created with tents and other structures so you weren’t having to stand in the direct sun … and once we located where to get it … there was plenty of water and drinks available to stay hydrated …

DSC04495-1 DSC04493-1I was also very surprised by how clean the portaloos were as well … it doesn’t seem like much but it really does affect the overall experience if you have to deal with a horribly dirty/smelly toilet …

DSC04504-1 DSC04530-1Once everyone was ready … NKD brought out lots and lots of boxes of Pizza to feed all the hungry Zombies … because even though as zombies we are to try and take the Survivors “lives” (tags) … the organisers did advise that actual tackling and biting of the runners was very much frowned upon …

DSC04522-1 DSC04520-1 DSC04513-1 DSC04523-1 DSC04528-1

Some people really went to town with the fake blood …

DSC04510-1As Zombies we got to choose which kind of Zombie we wanted to be … the fast running World War Z type Zombies or the slower more ambling The Walking Dead style zombies … considering as I already noted Perry and I really are not the running around types … we opted to be the slow ambling Zombies …

DSC04534-1

The views from the venue weren’t half bad …

DSC04506-1

Organising the Zombie masses …

DSC04497-1I spotted this guy walking around and honestly his makeup was really rather creepy …

DSC04494-1As the event was sponsored by NKD (as well as others) they provided some of their delivery outfits which a few of the Zombies got to wear to be Zombie NKD Pizza Delivery people … whilst I thought that sounded like a lot of fun … I did not really fancy wearing one of those insulated jumpsuits …

DSC04498-1We were then again split up further into groups where we ended up in the group that were to be stationed along near the start of the race … the slow zombies were basically being positioned roughly every 100m along the course and Perry and I got a patch of road roughly 500-600m from the start line … so we could watch off in the distance as the waves of runners started heading our way …

DSC04539-1 DSC04548-1We could tell straight away there were some really good runners among the Survivors … we had quite a wide stretch of road so it wasn’t that easy to catch the flags … but some people were obviously already struggling … even though this was the start of the race …

DSC04546-1 DSC04542-1

 

In total there were 4 or 5 waves of runners that came past us … but quite early on I started to feel unwell and a bit dizzy … I’d had plenty to drink and even brought a small bottle of water out with me (which turned out to be a very good idea) … I kept going thinking it would just go away … then when the second wave of runners came past I got very close to catching one of the tags from a runner when my finger accidentally caught the waistband of the shorts rather than the tag … as the runner kept going they basically dragged me with them and in my effort not to fall over I twisted my ankle …

DSC04547-1 DSC04543-1I ended up having to sit down for a bit to rest it as the third wave came past … it was a shame but I could tell it wasn’t quite right … on top of that the feeling of dizziness hadn’t gone away so after the third wave finished running past us we decided to walk back … or rather in my case limp back … which I have to say gave me a much more convincing Zombie walk …

I think Perry and I figured out why I wasn’t feeling all to great … I had been to the Dr the day before for my back and he’d given me some strong painkillers to help my back (another reason we didn’t do the running zombies) … and on reflection I realised while I’d drunk alot of water that day I hadn’t really eaten much and it was quite likely the painkillers had affected me negatively a little …

By the time we got home my ankle was feeling a bit better but I didn’t take any more of those painkillers that day just incase …

All in all I’d say it was a really good event … I would take part again I think … but I’d make sure I took more water with me onto the course and to make sure I’d eaten properly beforehand …

One main thing I had an issue with on the day was the lack of marshalls or organisers on the actual race course … at the start when they were talking to us and explaining the rules of the race … one thing they kept repeating was that there would be water stations along the course … that we should all stay hydrated … and that there would be marshalls around to help if anyone got injured …

Well there were no water stations near where we were … and we couldn’t even see where the nearest one was … there were no marshalls stationed around where we were … we didn’t see one between the start line to beyond where we were … so even when I hurt my ankle we weren’t sure what to do at first … so I think maybe if the water stations had been more frequently located or atleast for there to have been marshalls going round the course in a car or golf buggy to check on everyone / hand out water it may have made the event more enjoyable for the zombies who had to hang out on the course …

All in all as I said we both enjoyed the experience … and it was a fun afternoon out doing something a little different for Halloween …

That is it for this post … thanks for tuning in …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. if you want to see more photos of the event you can see those taken by the photographers at the event HERE and HERE

2 thoughts on “The Contagion Run … Dressing Up Like Zombies for a 5km Run …

  1. Pingback: Halloween 2014 … A Black Cat … The Little Mermaid … & Perry … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup Time … More Visitors … Halloween … & Enjoying the Sunshine … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

