Sewing … Another Crafting Adventure … Brother NV400 …

_MG_3120-1Hey everyone … so I’ve been meaning to post about this for a while now … this post has been sat blank in my drafts folder for over a month now and I’m only just getting round to writing it up … which is pretty bad …

_MG_3103-1Anyway … back at the end of August I saw there was a summer sale on at Craftland in Dubai for their sewing machines … now I’d been saying to Perry for about a year or so now that I wanted to get a sewing machine … so after doing quite a bit of research and checking around I decided to take the plunge and got the Brother NV400 …

_MG_3113-1 _MG_3109-1It certainly wasn’t the cheapest sewing machine I could have gone for but it was very much middle of the range price wise … I actually went for something that probably had more features than I really needed at the moment but I really want it to be something that I have for years and years … plus it came with all the accessories I wanted too which was great so I didn’t have to get any extra machine parts …

_MG_3131-1 _MG_3134-1One thing I really want to try and do is make a Quilt … and this machine comes with a quilting table, knee lift peddle (so you can lift the sewing machine foot without taking your hands off the fabric, which for quilting is really helpful) and the specific walking foot for quilting which is very handy …

_MG_3123-1 _MG_3136-1This machine comes with a bajillion feet (Ok slight exaggeration but 13 feet is quite a lot) … and all the other little accessories, extra needles, screwdrivers/tools for changing needles/feet on the machine etc …

_MG_3120-1 _MG_3124-1The machine itself is computerised which is completely new to me … but it seems pretty easy to use so far … the manual it comes with is really handy and I’ve been referring to it loads when using the machine and is easy enough to reference …

As part of the Summer Sale bundle deal with I got the machine it came with a bunch of extra stuff that Craftland threw into the bundle … so basic sewing supplies … scissors … needles … measuring tape … seam ripper … etc … which was a bonus …

_MG_3107-1Finally the machine also comes with a cover for it … again really handy and the quilting table can be attached to it too … and the pocket bit at the front is large enough to take the foot pedal … power cable and the operation manual … so its convenient to carry/store everything together …

_MG_3127-1I’ve played around with it a bit since getting it home … but I’m looking forward to doing some more with it over the next few months … my Mum taught me to sew when I was really young and I always enjoyed it … I did textiles at school for a few years and cause I finished the class project way ahead of everyone else (I seriously lacked a lot of patience as a child so I used to always finish things quickly) … the teacher told me I could go on and make something else that I wanted … so I actually ended making my brother a short sleeved shirt … there is actually a photo of me holding his hand and walking him down the runway at my school’s fashion show … I can’t find the photo but I know it exists somewhere … he must have been about 9 or 10 at the time …

Anyway so I haven’t really done much in the way of sewing for over 10 years I’d say … other than maybe sewing on a button or fixing a ripped seam by hand … so I’m really looking forward to getting back into this and trying my had at some different sewing projects too …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Sewing … Another Crafting Adventure … Brother NV400 …

  1. Pingback: Sewing Adventures Aged 12 & 13 … A Little Throwback … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

