29 Things To Achieve Before Turning 29 … My Goals for the coming Year …

_MG_3556-1Hey everyone … so since it was my BIRTHDAY a few days ago and I posted about how my 28 BEFORE 28 challenge worked out … I decided I wanted to do another one this year … my goals for this next year are mostly different to last year … they reflect some of the changes we will be going through over the coming months and some will follow on or have developed as a result of the challenges I set myself for last year …

It will be interesting (for me anyway) to see where I end up at the end of this next year and what I will have learned from the targets I have set myself below … Either way I hope that by sharing this list here and making it public it will hold me more accountable and push me to try achieve them all over the next 12 months …

  1. Portraits – Same as my goal for last year … and even though I only just managed to do this one last time … I am really adamant that we should try and do this at least once every year … 
    _MG_3520-1
  2. Hugo & Derek Monthly Photos – I loved doing this challenge in my last list of goals … and it’s provided some of my favourite pictures of the boys … so its definitely something I’m going to keep doing this year …_MG_2937-1 _MG_8171-1 _MG_7837-1 _MG_7779-1
  3. Try a new Restaurant once a month – Again Perry and I do eat out regularly but we always seem to end up going to the same restaurants over and over … while that’s not a bad thing … Dubai has so many different options to try and explore … so I think the aim this year is to try one new restaurant each month at least …
  4. Try some new Recipes – Since moving to Dubai I’ve really developed a love for cooking … but again I’ve kind of fallen into a rut of cooking and making the same things over and over again because I know them and they are safe meals … so my challenge to myself this year is to try at least 1-2 new recipes each month … I’m not going to be overly ambitious and unrealistic about it … we all need those safe meals to fall back on … but it would also be nice to try out some new things again …IMG_20140624_141552 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
  5. Sort out our Dubai and Saudi visa’s – Sorting out our visa’s (both Perry and mine) is turning into this huge administration nightmare … its hard to find accurate information and even harder to make progress when the person you need to do some of the admin for you is on leave for 6 weeks … I’m really hoping this is something we can resolve sooner rather than later …
  6. Move to Bahrain – This is a biggy … I’ve already talked about this before … but while we don’t have a set date for our move yet … we are both pretty sure it will be sometime in the next 6-8 months … there will be a lot of logistical issues to deal with when moving … least of all organising to move the Cats and our furniture … but I’m hoping this one should be manageable if not stress free …
  7. Get some plants for our home – This is a Bahrain challenge … when we move to our new home I’d like to have plants … I need to do some research into plants that are safe for cats and I’m also curious as to how the boys may handle potted plants … last thing I want is for them to go digging in plant pots or peeing all over them … it’ll be interesting to see how this one works out …
  8. Try to grow a small herb garden – This is another Bahrain challenge … I’d like to do a bit of gardening but honestly don’t know what kind of vegetables can stand the weather and climate in this region outside … so to start things off simply I think I’ll try my hand at a small herb garden in plant pots that can be kept indoors …
  9. Purge Stuff – We seem to have accumulated a lot of stuff since moving to Dubai … we moved here with 2 suitcases and how have a 2 bed apartment full of stuff … I’m actually looking forward to our move to Bahrain as an opportunity to go through and get rid of all the ‘stuff’ we no longer need/use …
  10. Knit a pair of Socks – So I’ve knit a lot of stuff over the last few months … but socks are one thing I have not yet ventured into making … the closest thing I’ve made to socks are these SUPER CHUNKY SLIPPERS … I’m also really worried about second sock syndrome (where after finishing one sock you loose all motivation to make the second) … so am thinking a two at a time pattern will be the way to go for this … I’m quite excited to give this one a go … _MG_2866-1 _MG_2708-1
  11. Knit something for Perry – again this has been a tough one … Perry doesn’t feel the cold that much and living in Dubai again he doesn’t have much need for knitwear … also he doesn’t like hats … so I think I’ll be making a scarf for him this year … he’s already picked out colours and a couple patterns he likes …so I guess I better get on with it then … if nothing else at least he will get use out of it while he is in London or New York while doing his MBA …
  12. Re-Learn how to Sew again and make clothes for myself – So back at the end of August I bought myself a Sewing Machine … I’ve been thinking about getting back into sewing again (my Mum taught me how to sew when I was a child but I haven’t touched a machine in over 10 years) … so finally I took the plunge and got a machine on sale … part of the deal was some free classes so I’ve signed up to do an introduction to sewing class to get reacquainted and learn how to use my machine better … I’m really looking forward to this and the other sewing related challenges on this list …_MG_3120-1 _MG_3109-1
  13. Make Curtains for our home – well we currently have curtains and blinds in our apartment … and likely we will take these with us when we move … even so we will probably need more curtains or our current ones may need to be altered to fit our new place when we get to Bahrain … so my challenge is to make/alter whatever curtains we need … getting curtains made can get really costly quite fast … plus its a relatively simple process just time consuming because of the size and quantity of fabric that will be needed … My Mum always made the curtains in our home so I’m sure I’ll be on the phone with her regularly when I’m stuck …
  14. Make Perry a Shirt – This is one of those big mega sewing challenges … a button up shirt is quite an advanced sewing project … but my goal is that by this time next year I’ll be confident enough with my sewing machine to at least attempt to make one for him … whether or not he will actually wear it outside the house is a whole other issue all together …
  15. Sew my first Quilt – making a quilt has been something I’ve talked about doing for quite some time now … and with the recent sewing machine purchase I’m excited to finally be able to give this a go …
  16. Go to a Theatre Show – We went to Cirque Du Soleil last year … and previously we went to see Cats … and a last week we saw Potted Potter … all of which I really enjoyed … going to the theatre here is nothing like the same experience as going to see a theatre show in London … but we still enjoy it so I would like to make more of an effort to go more often when something interesting crops up …
  17. Travel to at least 2 new places – We’ve done a lot of travelling over the first 7 months of this year … and honestly I’ve loved it … but with the MBA, Perry’s new job and a move to Bahrain all happening this year we probably won’t be able to do as much travelling … however I would still like to try and aim to go see/experience at least two new places/countries this year … that should be manageable … _MG_1499-1 _MG_6496-1 _MG_1845-1 _MG_7936-1
  18. Have a UAE Staycation / Road Trip – some of our more relaxing weekend breaks have been local staycations … it would be lovely to do one more local UAE staycation before we move to Bahrain … _MG_3327-1 _MG_3064-1
  19. Make My Own Notebook – If you know me at all you will know that I absolutely love notebooks … as in I think I have a problem level of addiction to pretty notebooks … so I thought it would be quite fun this year to learn how to make my own properly bound notebook … I’ve looked into the process a little and while it looks time consuming with lots of steps and repetition the individual steps seem simple enough to action … I don’t expect it to be amazing but at the same time I think it will be a fun creative thing to try …
  20. Do Some Volunteering – I’ve actually already started this by volunteering to help Feline Friends … but since I started fostering for Feline Friends last year we were only able to take in short term foster cats … usually doing holiday cover for other fosterers … mainly because it causes our boys anxiety having other cats at home … so I decided to volunteer my time to help out the charity in other ways … I am looking forward to trying to make a small difference while I can before we move … and after we move it would be nice to carry on Volunteering with another charity in Bahrain …
  21. Marina Boat Cruise – Considering we live in the Marina and are pretty much surrounded by Boats all the time we’ve never actually been on a boat cruise in Dubai … so before we leave I’d really like to do a nice relaxing cruise for a couple hours …
  22. Picnic/BBQ – The weather here is really lovely in the winter and I don’t think we make enough of it … so I’d really like to do more picnic’s and outdoor BBQ’s this year … the goal is to do at least one of each … _MG_2642-1
  23. Get Perry on an Abra ride on the Creek … I’ve been up to the Creek area a few times now with guests and showing people around but I have never been able to get Perry up there … so my goal is to get him on an Abra ride along the Creek … I think he’d really like it …
  24. Dune Buggy rides on the Sand Dunes … We’ve done desert safari’s and off-roading a few times now … but both of us would like to try our hands at driving Dune Buggies over the sand … will be giving this one a try this year …
  25. Take part in another 5 km run – Perry and I had so much fun doing the COLOUR RUN last year that we decided to sign up for another fun 5km run … this time we’ve registered to do the Contagion Run … its on Halloween and you get to choose if you want to be a Zombie or a Survivor … we obviously chose to be Zombies cause it just sounds like fun … so we will be running around trying to catch people as they try to do their 5km … I’m actually really looking forward to this one …DSC04428-1
  26. Go Parasailing – this is another one of those things I’ve been wanting to do … don’t know why I’ve been putting it off but its about time I got this one ticked off the list …
  27. Start a Craft Blog – What with all the knitting and sewing I’ve got planned along with a few other ides I’d like to try out … I’m thinking of starting a separate Crafting Blog … I want to keep this one as more of a life journal and I don’t want to become overrun with ‘craft related posts’ … I’m also building up a massive stockpile so I’d also like to explore the idea of selling some of the stuff I make … although I haven’t quite figured out the best platform for this … Online seems to make the most sense until I try and figure out the postage situation … that in itself is a bit of a nightmare here … so this will take a little more investigation …
  28. Take up Pilates again or some other Exercise Class – I’m not really a gym person and I am not motivated enough to do my exercises at home … but being accountable to a class has been the only thing that has ever worked for me before … and I really enjoyed my Pilates classes that I did for a few months last year … then work picked up and meant I couldn’t commit to the classes regularly which was annoying … also the location of my classes wasn’t the most convenient … so this year I’m hoping to find something that will work more long term in a more suitable location … be it Pilates or some other kind of exercise class …
  29. Keep Blogging – I kind of feel this Blog is a little like a diary for me … I always struggled to keep a diary when I was younger no matter how much I wanted to … so the fact that I’ve been able to keep this up for over three years now is amazing to me … so my final goal for this year will be to just keep doing what I’m doing …

So that is pretty much my list … some will be easier than others … some will be more fun and others will be just plain tough / stressful … but I hope to be able to cross all of these off by the time I turn 29 … I’ll be sure to do a recap post after my birthday to see how things have panned out between now and then …

I’ve also set up a separate page on the Blog HERE (you can also find it in the Menu bar at the top) where you can follow along and see which targets I manage to do … I’ll link to any relevant blogs posts as I go along with a final roundup after my Birthday …

Do any of you do a similar list each year? What would be something you’d have on your list?

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. I came across this BLOG POST a couple weeks ago and I think it perfectly sums up why I enjoy setting goals for myself … its a great way to get motivated …

12 thoughts on “29 Things To Achieve Before Turning 29 … My Goals for the coming Year …

    • thanks for offer … will definently get in touch if we get really stuck … at the moment waiting for my company’s PRO to get everything moving on my Dubai visa … and my husband is getting his certs attested by the Saudi consulate at the moment … for now its just a waiting game but if we get stuck I’ll send you a message … thanks again for the offer 🙂

Leave a Reply

