Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts …

Hey everyone … so guess what??? Today is my Birthday … eek … I’m finally 28 and honestly it doesn’t feel any different … anyway I am posting a round up of my 28 BEFORE 28 challenge that I set myself 6 months ago … I am please to say that I managed to get to a point where I am happy to cross everything on the list off as done … some of the items are more long term ongoing goals but I’m happy with the progress I’ve made so far …

In any case you can read about them below and I have included some thoughts about each throughout with some extras at the end about how this worked for me and what I learned from doing this for the last 6 months …

  1. Take some portraits of Perry, Myself and the Boys – Done finally so glad to see this one finally ticked off the list … for some reason we always seemed to keep putting this off or postponing it … but so happy we did it … _MG_3520-1 _MG_3556-1_MG_3494-2_MG_3516-1
  2. Get to a healthy weight – This is one of those still in progress challenges …
  3. Organise our Paperwork and Bookcases – I’m glad I did this … although it may need to be done again soon …
  4. Ski Dubai – Done too … we visited the snow park as we didn’t meet the minimum requirement for the slopes … we didn’t actually realise this before hand and didn’t have time to book lessons this time … IMG_0659 IMG_0680 IMG_0683
  5. Visit a Waterpark – Yay we did this one too … headed out to Aquaventure one Friday for a day of splashing around in the water and on the rides … even though we both got a little sunburned it was a lot of fun … DCIM102GOPRODCIM102GOPRODCIM102GOPRODCIM101GOPRODCIM102GOPRO
  6. Sky Dive – Done … OMG this was such an amazing experience … and such a brilliant way to round off this list … img_3565-1 img_3586-1 img_3600-1 img_3631-1
  7. Have a complete online backup for all my Photos – Complete and up to date till end of April 2014 … and have been pretty regular at keeping it updated … Flickr Photo Totals
  8. Create a Photo Book for my Europe Interail Trip from 2009 – I’ve created the book and its finally arrived … _MG_7291-1_MG_7314-1_MG_7318-1_MG_7328-1_MG_7332-1
  9. Sell my Photography equipment I no longer need/use – I sold my long Telephoto lens I no longer needed or used …
  10. Visit Doha – 27th – 29th March weekend trip … THE PEARL AND VILLAGIO MALL … _MG_8139-1_MG_8165-1_MG_8151-1THE W HOTEL … _MG_7610-1_MG_8115-1_MG_8125-1THE MUSEUM OF ISLAMIC ART … _MG_7696-1_MG_7702-1_MG_7778-1AROUND DOHA … _MG_7660-1_MG_7968-1_MG_8053-1
  11. Abu Dhabi Grand Mosque – Done … we had a great time and it is a great building to see … and very modern for a mosque which are seen as being quite old fashioned a lot of the time … SZGM Panorama 1_MG_3262-1IMG_0071-1IMG_0100-1
    _MG_3295-1
  12. Learn to Knit – honestly I had no idea that this challenge would lead me down the path it did … seriously this has turned into a slight obsession … its crazy but I’m loving it … there is a certain satisfaction that comes from finishing a knitted project and looking at what you’ve achieved …_MG_7427-1_MG_7340-1_MG_7358-1_MG_3367-1_MG_3012-1_MG_2882-1_MG_2866-1_MG_2445-1_MG_9059-1
  13. Go Ice Skating – Done … finally and you can read about that by clicking the link in the title … WP_20140829_007-1WP_20140829_023-1
  14. Take Perry to Iran – we went from 12th April – 21st April … and had a great time … it was so much fun … _MG_9888-1_MG_1228-1_MG_1845-1_MG_9104-1_MG_0004-1_MG_9535-1
  15. Scuba Diving – Done … this was really good fun and I would love to do this more in the future … Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
  16. Attend a Music Concert –  we went to see Kings of Leon play Live @ Atlantis … it was a brilliant gig even though it was a little on the warm side …Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with a6 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset
  17. Fix all my Dental Issues – So finally finished with this one on the 30th May 2014 … so so so ridiculously ecstatic to be done with all that … in case you are wondering … it took 20 visits over three months!
  18. Swim at the Beach – We did this when we went Scuba Diving … as we did our dive at the beach and so fulfilled the Swim at the Beach at the same time …
  19. Read at least 3 books between now and my Birthday – Finished – First Book finished is Brave New World by Aldous Huxley … if you’ve read George Orwell’s 1984 this is a good a similar read … not the same exact topic but it looks at what an alternative future may hold … there are arguments that can be made which say the future we currently have is a version of the those two stories combined … in either case it is an interesting book …_MG_8204-1Just finished my Second Book Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi … _MG_8209-1Decided on my third book finally … Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert … I had read her first book Eat Pray Love, and really liked it … finished this one and really liked it too … it raises some interesting questions about love and marriage … an easy and pleasant read …_MG_2919-1
  20. Visit Al Ain Zoo … Lovely day out to Al Ain Zoo … well worth a visit and it was fun to see all the animals … glad we went when we did … any later in the year and it would have probably been too warm … loved the Tiger and Giraffe’s the best … _MG_6859-1_MG_6764-1_MG_7145-1
  21. Take photos of Hugo & Derek with my SLR at least once a month MARCH photos are done … _MG_7360-1_MG_7403-1_MG_7500-1APRIL is done … _MG_9028-1_MG_8938-1_MG_8946-1_MG_9048-1MAY is now done … _MG_2515-1_MG_2584-1_MG_2671-1_MG_2746-1_MG_2781-1JUNE are now posted … 
    _MG_7617-1_MG_7654-1_MG_7725-1_MG_7837-1JULY is now posted … _MG_8171-1_MG_8088-1_MG_8058-1_MG_8173-1_MG_8096-1AUGUST is now done too … _MG_2937-1_MG_2948-1_MG_3005-1_MG_3033-1SEPTEMBER is done too … _MG_3232-1 _MG_3274-1 _MG_3341-1 _MG_3461-1 _MG_3431-1
  22. Keep up with our Savings to meet our monthly goals – So far so good … this is another one of those ongoing ones …
  23. Try to let go of control more – I feel like I’m getting better at this one … its quite hard to tell sometimes … but every now and again Perry notices when I don’t react negatively to something I previously would have and will mention something … so its nice to see that he’s noticing these small changes …
  24. Go Horse Riding – we’ve finished all our lessons … after our first lesson it was so warm we opted for the rest to be at night when it’d be more comfortable … both of us have enjoyed it and we’d like to continue taking lessons … although we will have to put this on hold now until after the summer is over … it just gets quite uncomfortable for us when its this warm … IMG_20140427_140305
  25. Dubai Miracle Garden … the first item on my list I get to cross off … was a lovely day out … the overcast weather meant much better lighting for photos and it didn’t get too hot either! _MG_6395-1_MG_6568-1
  26. More Date Nights with Perry – We had our first proper date night in a while when were in Doha … a celebrating our Anniversary meal … 2014-03-28 19.56.20-1We’ve had several more date nights since … usually involving dinner and a movie … to be fair I’d consider any occasion where we spend time just the two of us talking or doing something without getting distracted by emails/phones/technology/etc as a date type event …DCIM102GOPROI especially count our day out at Aquaventure as a suitable Date Event …                 In general we have been making more of an effort to spend time together and do things at the weekends to connect with each other more … especially as Perry is away a lot during the week … so the weekends have become quite an important time for us to catch up with each other …
  27. Unplug from the Internet once a week for at least half a day – Kinda doing this one by trying to ignore my computer as much as possible on the weekends … need to make more of an effort with my phone though … had a nice 10 day break from the internet while we were in Iran … a combo of no working VPN, blocked websites and sketchy internet connections in places didn’t help … it was actually quite refreshing and I really liked it …
  28. Keep Blogging – Well I’m still here … so far so good …

That pretty much wraps up the list … it was a lot of fun to do it … and in fact it helped to keep things interesting … a lot of times you get to the weekend and kind of fall into a rut of doing the same things again and again … having set these goals for myself actually gave me something to aim for and so we have ended up doing things that we probably would have kept putting off doing otherwise …

Also I had no idea that the knitting one would have taken off like it did … I honestly wish I had started that one sooner …

Overall I’ve learned a lot from doing this challenge … so much so that I’m planning on doing one next year … I’m just finalising my list and will be sharing that sometime in the next couple days …

Anyway that is it for this one …

Till next time …

Mina X

6 thoughts on “Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts …

  1. Many happy returns Mina. Love reading the blogs thought the parachute jump was brilliant I am very busy at present Cambridge yesterday , Manchester today , Guildford tomorrow cannot wait for our break with you and Perry in November best regards Patrick

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup Time … Skydiving & Birthday’s … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: 29 Things To Achieve Before Turning 29 … My Goals for the coming Year … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

