Sky Dive Dubai … Over The Palm Jumeirah …

img_3600-1Hey everyone … so one of the things I did this weekend was jump out of a plane … well I say jump it was more like I was pushed out of the plane … either way I went Skydiving … it was incredible … it has been something I’ve wanted to do since I was 14 … so pretty much half my life … and I am so happy to finally have that one ticked off my bucket list … and this also happens to the be the last thing on my 28 BEFORE 28 list that I had left to complete before my Birthday this week …

_MG_3610-1It was so much fun … scary … slightly painful (i’ll get to that later) … but incredible all at the same time … once I was on the ground though Perry pretty much said now that I had done it I wasn’t allowed to do it again because he was really stressed the whole time … needless to say he didn’t join me … (the video is at the bottom of the post) …

img_3550-1Anyway so I’ll do a quick run through of what happened … we got there in the morning about 30mins early from the start of my session and got registered etc … then we just had to wait around for me to be called up … soon my instructor Annette found me and we ran through the basics of what we would be doing …

img_3551-1The main things I had to remember were what to do with my arms and legs once we jumped … and what signals to look out for from Annette as well … I was introduced to my cameraman … each person who jumps gets a dedicated camera person who takes the video and photos of your jump …

img_3553-1Then before I new it the time had come to go to the plane and get on board … its a tiny plane and I have to say it was the first time I’ve taken a flight without a safety announcement first … As we ascended higher and higher I did start to wonder what I had just gotten myself into …

We very quickly got to 13,000 feet and everyone on board started doing the final prep for the jump … the one thing I distinctly remember when they fist opened the door was how cold and refreshing the air was …

img_3562-1Annette had told me beforehand on the ground that when we get to the hatch in the plane I just need to crouch down … smile at the camera and hold on to my shoulder straps … and that she would push us out the plane …

img_3565-1 img_3566-1So really I didn’t even get much of a warning … one second I was crouching at the side of the plane and next thing I know were out the door and free-falling … you can probably tell in the photos and video that I was taken a bit by surprise as my legs are flailing around as we spun …

img_3568-1 img_3575-1Eventually … and with Annette’s help pulling my head back … I got myself into the right position … honestly after that initial drop the rest of the free fall was so much fun … it was actually for me probably my favourite part of the whole experience …

img_3582-1 img_3584-1 img_3586-1We had really clear views over Dubai … could see the whole Marina … the Palm and the World Islands … it was amazing …

img_3591-1 img_3593-1 img_3597-1 img_3600-1 img_3612-1After about a minute free-falling Annette opened up the parachute and force of that really yanks the harness which was quite painful … she then loosened some of the straps a bit to make it more comfortable for the rest of the ride down …

img_3624-1 img_3626-1img_3628-1 img_3631-1At first everything was fine … I was enjoying the view and Annette talked me through our landing procedure … basically because I was quite a bit taller than her we were going to land with me sat down … which suited me fine …

_MG_3777-1 _MG_3839-1Once Annette had done a few left and right turns … which she has to do in order to keep us on top of the landing strip … I started to feel nauseous … while we floated down I was fine but every time she made a turn my stomach flipped … at which point I was incredibly grateful I hadn’t eaten anything that morning …

_MG_3843-1 _MG_3846-1 img_3632-1 _MG_3851-1 img_3634-1We finally got down and landed perfectly fine … once on the ground I did just want to sit there for a minute with my head between my knees to just recompose myself … but before I had a chance my camera guy was in front of me asking me questions for the video …

img_3636-1I made my way back towards the side of the landing strip where Perry was waiting for me … and after getting a sugary drink and having a moment to just sit down for a bit I started to feel much better … the whole thing had thrown off my inner ear balance … but I think not having had any food that morning probably exacerbated the problem further as my blood sugar was low as well …

Overall it was an incredible experience … I am so glad I did it and I had a great time doing it too … even if I did feel ill afterwards … it was totally worth it …

That is it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. a number of the photos as we came to land were taken by Perry from the side of the landing strip …

6 thoughts on “Sky Dive Dubai … Over The Palm Jumeirah …

  1. Pingback: Monday Links For The Week … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Weekly Roundup Time … Skydiving & Birthday’s … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  4. I’ve looked at this every now and then. So far I think 5 times. Every time I can’t stop laughing and crying of excitement. 😀 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

