Weekly Roundup … Ski Dubai … Travel Plans … Getting Stuck …

IMG_0648Hey everyone … so this has been a bit of a random week … things are changing up a bit at work … which is not a bad thing … actually this change is a pretty darn great thing for me … our weekend was really busy … and this upcoming one doesn’t seem to be letting up on the pace either …

IMG_0683 IMG_0619 IMG_0621 IMG_0624Last weekend we finally made it to Ski Dubai on Saturday … my first reaction when we walked into there was “I forgot what cold was” … Perry cracked up as I stood there loudly proclaiming I wasn’t wearing enough layers and why did I leave my nice big knitted scarf at home … it was so cold … but then again as Perry pointed out what else was I expecting really?

IMG_0637 IMG_0645 IMG_0655 IMG_0680

we didn’t end up actually on the slopes this time but enjoyed the rides in the snow park … which was a lot of fun … we were actually there really early in the morning so it was lovely and quiet and no queues … loved it!

IMG_0670 IMG_0659 IMG_0676 IMG_0660The tubing was probably our favourite bit … you end up spinning round loads and you fly down the slope … its faster when there are two of you but more spin if your on your own …

Friday actually ended up being a really productive day too … we did our PORTRAITS in the morning before heading out for the afternoon … we ended up settling down in a corner at the More Cafe in the Gold & Diamond Park for a few hours … ate some yummy food and made travel plans … which I have to say is one of my favourite things to plan …

_MG_3520-1 _MG_3556-1First things first I’ll be going to Bahrain at the end of next week for the weekend and Perry will meet me there … we figured if we are planning on moving there we may as well go see the place and check out neighbourhoods we may want to live in … our location choice will be quite strategic to make sure it will be easy access to the causeway for Perry to get to and from work each day … Other than that it will be nice to just see the country and get away for a few days …

Then the big trip we planned was a week away in December … we finally got our time off approved by our respective employers and booked flights for our trip to Iceland … I am beyond excited about this trip because it was something we had really wanted to do last year … but because of the last minute holiday approval from work it would have been too expensive to make it work … that and the flights we wanted were not available so we would not have been able to spend as much time there as we had wanted to either …

But now the flights are all booked … we have a general idea of the stuff we want to do while we are there … and I’m just waiting for a few people to get back to me via email on a couple things before we can book the rest of the trip … I’ll be sure to be back later with an update on what we decide to do …

If anything as disappointing as I was that we didn’t make it last year … I feel like it was probably a good thing … firstly because we had an amazing time in Hong Kong and Macau instead … secondly because I would have been gutted at having missed out on all the yarn opportunities … Iceland is the land of yarn … apparently it is so prevalent there you can pick it up at the supermarket along with your weekly food shopping … I mean seriously!!!

The main reason we want to go to Iceland in Winter is to see the Northern Lights … its been on my lifelong bucket list pretty much forever and even though we both know getting to see it is not a sure thing … going at winter is our best bet … with only 4-5hrs of daylight in December it gives plenty of opportunity to spot them …

In other news … I’m not entirely sure what is going on in Dubai lately with the traffic … there must be a wave of new people who have yet to learn how to drive here or something … because there has been a massive increase in the number of road traffic accidents reported on the radio and that I have driven past myself to and from work … its been a little nuts lately …

This last week or so I’ve been catching up and finishing knitting projects that were on hold while I was going through knitting hats like a maniac for Perry to take back to LONDON for our families … so will have some new knitting posts coming up soon …

I also had a little car trouble this week … nothing to major … just a little embarassing really … I was turning the car around outside of our site cabin … the whole area is a sand pit until you get to the road … and usually its fine cause its quite firm and lots of small rocks to give grip … I suddenly found myself in a really really soft patch of sand … and before I knew it my tyres were buried and sand was up to the bottom of the drivers door … I was pretty darn stuck …

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetThankfully I wasn’t stuck long and a few of the workers on site along with a JCB Bulldozer (see above photo) got me out soon enough … its odd cause this has never happened to me before and I’ve been working here for over 18 months … also I’m actually surprised I haven’t had this occur sooner …

In other work related news I will be relocating to our head office in Dubai … while we all work on site the project is wrapping up now … so there is no real need for me to be on site anymore really … also me moving to our head office suits me perfectly cause its in Dubai Marina and within walking distance from home … So I should be based there from next week … I’m quite excited about that to be honest …

Now for some possibly bad news … I think my laptop might have died … actually its still about a 50/50 chance that it can be fixed … I don’t even know really what the problem is yet … a couple days ago I was using it like normal when the fan suddenly made a really loud ping noise and promptly stopped running … it sounded like someone had just stuck something in the middle of the moving fan and it snapped off … what ever it was it didn’t sound good … shortly after my laptop basically started making really loud funny screeching sounds … never a good thing …

I was straight on the phone to Perry and shut it down … he said he may be able to fix it depending on whats wrong with it … it may or may not need a new part … I’m hoping its going to be something fixable … I’ve had my Macbook Pro for about 3.5 years now and it still works perfectly for me … Perry’s done a few upgrades on it for me over that time but its been a pretty good workhorse … I’ll be very sad if I have to say goodbye to it now … 😦 … but I won’t know more about it till the weekend when Perry can take a look at it … so I’m just going to keep my fingers and toes crossed until then …

As for this weekend … well its shaping up to be very busy indeed … we have tickets to go see a show on Friday evening … I am going to another knitting meetup this Saturday and that evening Perry and I will be meeting up with Terri and Cliff for some dinner … exciting times … we have a few other things to fit in over the weekend too so it will be interesting to see how that all pans out …

That is it for this week … thanks for stopping by …

Till next time …

Mina X

4 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup … Ski Dubai … Travel Plans … Getting Stuck …

  1. Pingback: Its My Birthday … 28 Before 28 Challenge Update & Some Other Thoughts … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

