London Knits … Knitting Sent Back Home …

_MG_3082-1Hey everyone … so by now you probably know that a couple weekends ago Perry headed back to London for a couple days to get a new passport … anyway the point here is that by the time he confirmed his dates for the trip there was less than two weeks before he was heading back … and I got it in my head that I wanted to knit something for him to take back for everyone …

So I basically gave myself about 10 days to knit 6 things … I decided to do hats for everyone as I can pretty much knit a hat from start to finish in about 4 hours … so I figured I’d have enough time to get everything done before Perry left …

In the end I got everything knitted up and ready to go a day before Perry was leaving so that was a relief …

_MG_3088-1Ok so starting off I’d made these finger-less gloves previously for my Mum … I made them in Yellow cause that is her favourite colour …

_MG_3063-1I did start off making them using a pattern … but the pattern was written really poorly and it ended up being massively too big for my hands … and my hands are pretty large anyway … so I decided to just make up my own pattern for finger-less gloves and the ones you see in the pictures here are what I ended up with …

_MG_3087-1It was good fun making these and I enjoyed coming up with the pattern for them too … although the pattern still needs a little tweaking … but I’m looking forward to making different versions of these finger-less gloves in the future …

_MG_3082-1So in my hat making frenzy I decided to make a matching hat for my Mum from the remaining yellow yarn I had … and ended up making this EYELET SPIRAL HAT

_MG_3072-1The version I made was slightly modified from the pattern … I used slightly larger needles so cast on fewer stitches … it still worked out in the end …

_MG_3067-1 _MG_3076-1Its more of a beret style hat than a beanie … but its comfy … snug around the rim and loose at the back …

_MG_3047-1

For my Dad I ended up making a giant Beanie … with a ribbed rim … it actually ended up being quite a lot larger than I had intended … although I still quite liked the over sized aspect of the finished hat … it works well with the rim folded up …

_MG_3096-1

You can fold the back rim down a little to give more coverage over the ears and back of the neck … and its really warm and snuggly … Derek started circling my feet at this point so here is with me …

_MG_3094-1I ended up making some simple modifications to my original pattern for the hat I made for my Dad and made a similar one for Perry’s Dad …

_MG_3058-1

This one turned out much more snug and more like a traditional beanie …

_MG_3098-1

Still snug and warm … but not as loose on the head …

_MG_3100-1Also while we were taking the above photos … Hugo took over Perry’s spot on the bean bag … He’d been doing stuff on the Xbox before he helped me take these pictures … came back to find Hugo looking like this …

_MG_3138-1My brother had previously asked me to make him a Balaclava with eyes and a mouth opening … he had a very specific look in mind and even sent me some pictures to work with … I have to say this would not have been my choice of balaclava design to make but it was what he wanted …

_MG_3053-1Anyway I really struggled to find a pattern for this and in the end made one up … he sent me his head measurements and I pretty much figured it out as I went along … thankfully it all worked out OK and it fit him like a glove …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetHe actually didn’t take it off for the rest of the Skype call after Perry gave it to him … and he looks super creepy and sinister in the photos …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

_MG_3187-1Next up I made this MAGNOLIA hat for Perry’s Mum …

_MG_3140-1I really liked how this one turned out as well … I loved the pattern on the hat … and the effect of knitting it with the double strands was really interesting too …

_MG_3189-1It was actually a really easy knit that looks a lot more complicated that it was …

_MG_3150-1I will certainly be making this hat again … this is another one that is more of a beanie style that sits snug on your head …

_MG_3191-1I finally made this FOLIAGE hat for Perry’s Sister …

_MG_3155-1This was actually really fun for me to make as I’d never made a top down hat before … it was an interesting construction but I liked it …

_MG_3195-1In the end the hat turned out to be quite a bit bigger than I had intended but it was still snug enough around the rim and ended up looser in the back …

_MG_3198-1It turned out to be good fortune as Perry’s sister preferred her hat that way … I think this happened because the Purple yarn I have mixed in with the grey was made of cotton which has a little less stretch to it … but I really liked the overall look of these two colours together …

_MG_3159-1The hat can also be easily worn with the rim folded up for a slightly different option …

Overall everyone liked their hats which was great … I literally felt like a hat knitting machine for that one week … hopefully it will keep them warm as the weather gets colder in the UK over the next few months …

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. I hadn’t done anything to my hair in the earlier photos (where I’m wearing the red top) … thats how it now looks the next day after washing it and letting it dry overnight … its actually really nice now that I can just leave it out … if you are interested in what I did to my hair you can read more about it in my post on the BRAZILIAN KERATIN TREATMENT I tried a few weeks ago …

5 thoughts on “London Knits … Knitting Sent Back Home …

    • Thanks… It helps when your husband works out of town during the week so a lot of evenings were used up knitting these hats… At the expense of our apartment… It was quite a state by the end of the week as I hadn’t done anything to keep on top of the chores… Lol

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … Ski Dubai … Travel Plans … Getting Stuck … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … Philipp Family Christmas Presents … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  3. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … Yamini Family Christmas Presents … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

