Knitting Adventures … A Sock Yarn Shawl …

_MG_3200-1I found this pattern for the PLUMA SHAWLETTE by Manos Del Uruguay months ago and had it in my pile of ‘To Knit’ patterns that I really wanted to make … so when we got back from South Africa with all that yummy soft Sock Yarn … I decided to finally make this shawl (it required sock yarn to make it) …

_MG_3574-1It was actually really fun to knit … really fast as well … and the edge pattern was quite interesting too … not too complicated but complicated enough to keep it interesting …

_MG_3209-1I had actually knit up the bulk of the shawl in less than two evenings … I then had a couple days break from this one to work on something else before coming back to it and taking my time to finish it off over a couple more days …

_MG_3183-1Honestly though the hardest part of this shawl was the bind off … creating those picot edges at the bottom of the shawl (those little pokey out bits) was really time consuming … it was really fiddly and required a lot of concentration and keeping count of stitches …

_MG_3206-1I must have had a lapse in concentration at one point because a couple of the points ended up off by a couple stitches … thankfully I figured it out in time to correct it going forward with the rest … I didn’t have the patience to try and go back to fix them … it doesn’t look too bad either … in any case I think its these small hiccups that make hand knits interesting …

_MG_3173-1I love how it turned out … after blocking its still soft and squishy and really holds its shape nicely too …

_MG_3578-1 _MG_3579-1 _MG_3583-1

_MG_3203-1I ended up striping the two colours as I would have just run out of the green (or grey) if I had tried to do it all in one colour and that would not have been fun …

_MG_3576-1That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Knitting Adventures … A Sock Yarn Shawl …

Leave a Reply

