Weekly Roundup Time … Catching Up with Friends … Volunteering & Traffic Nightmares …

Its been a crazy end to the week … I had such a relaxed week at work and suddenly everything kicks off on a Thursday … why does it seem to always happen that way??? Anyhow … its been a good week overall … But I’ll start back briefly with what I got up to last weekend …

While Perry was off in the UK getting his passport and visiting our families … I was back in Dubai … On the Friday I headed out to Brunch (first of the season) to celebrate with our friends Terri and Cliff … they recently got married and were having the brunch to celebrate with their friends back in Dubai …

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetIt was really good fun and quite a cozy brunch overall … the staff were very good at making sure you never ran out of drinks … they were pretty quick at bringing you your next cocktail before you’d even finished your last one … I think I probably had a whole Summer’s worth of Pimms that afternoon … it was good though and the food was pretty yummy too …

On Saturday I met up with Ian and Sarah for lunch and a long overdue catch up … Sarah also brought along a very yummy homemade lemon cheesecake …

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

It was delicious … and it was so lovely to see them both again after such a long time … we will be definitely making more plans to meet up over the next few months … especially now that the weather is getting better too … BBQ season is approaching so looking forward to that …

In the afternoon on Saturday I joined a meeting for Feline Friends … the cat charity in Dubai that helps to re-home strays/abandoned cats … we used to Foster for them (you can read about some of those HERE HERE … and HERE) but always on a short term temporary basis … however we stopped doing this as after a while and especially with the older cats it was really making our boys anxious and stressing them out having other cats in our home …

However, I still wanted to help in any other way that I could so I’ve volunteered my time to help them sort out their databases, spreadsheets …and trying to help them streamline their processes to make it easier for everyone involved to update and find what information they need …

I had a follow up meeting for this earlier on this week as well … its nice to be able to do something like this to help out even though we aren’t in a position to take in foster cats … we are hoping to make some good progress with updating their systems and spreadsheets over the next few weeks so I’m excited about getting involved with that …

I met up with Perry briefly on Sunday morning at Dubai Airport for a coffee and switching of bags … He had a couple hours in Dubai between his flight back from London and his next one to Saudi … so I took his prepacked work suitcase to the airport and picked up his London bags from him … I’d ordered a bunch of Yarn too knowing he’d be back so I was excited to check those out too when I got home …

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 presetI’ve been making more of an effort to try and eat better this week … I’ve been pretty bad lately … but I did manage to make this really quite yummy steak salad a couple days ago …

Another thing that I haven’t really spoken about much on here but has really been a pain over the last 1-2 months is the level of traffic in the Marina at the moment … the road works for the tram line being installed has really started to ramp up recently … they are relaying road surfaces and trying to get everything finished … the tram is due to open in November this year … but all this means is daily changes to the road layout and constant traffic … especially on the corner where we live at the moment …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetIts all a bit of a nightmare right now … I’m hoping it will only be another 6 weeks or so of this before its finally done …

Anyway … as for our weekend we don’t have much planned yet … Perry has his last day at work with his current company today … so he officially starts his new job on Sunday … this weekend I’m hoping that we will be able to make time to take some photos … tidy up the apartment which is a bit of a state at the moment … and make some plans for the next few weeks …

We are about to hit visitor season … We have visitors early October (Perry’s Friends) … then again in Late November and early December (Perry’s Family)… and possibly again over Christmas (My Family) … so will need to start thinking ahead about some things we want to do with each … maybe its just me but I love planning stuff like this so this actually sounds like fun to me … I’m probably just weird like that …

It also happens to be my Mum’s Birthday today … so Happy Birthday to my Mum 🙂 … I’m also hoping to fit in a family skype session over the weekend too …

That is it for this post

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

