Brazilian Keratin Treatment … My Experiences …

Hey everyone … so a slightly different post to usual today … a few weeks ago I found an offer to have a Brazillian Keratin Treatment done on my hair … and after doing quite a bit of research into it and looking at different youtube videos about the process involved etc I decided to give it a go …

It’s something I’d wanted to try for a long time … I remember first hearing about it years ago and thinking it would be brilliant … I have pretty frizzy thick hair that when left in its natural state is pretty unmanageable … at least without spending a lot of time trying to make it look good and honestly I rarely have enough time when I’m getting ready in the morning to do anything other than stick it up in a quick bun …

Just to show you what I mean this is my hair after its been washed and dried naturally … there is no product and I didn’t brush my hair after washing either (that makes it even more frizzy) … this was the morning before I got the treatment done …

_MG_2844-1Its odd because my hair looks really dry and damaged in the picture above … but its actually not as bad as it looks … I have no split ends and if I straighten my hair it looks a lot healthier … mostly because its not as frizzy …

Anyways so while looking into the keratin treatment online and seeing what it was all about there was one thing I came across time and again which I hadn’t been aware of before … the miracle straightening aspect of the keratin treatment doesn’t actually come from the keratin in the product but from Formaldehyde … which is actually quite a toxic chemical and this is where a lot of people warn you against Brazilian Keratin Treatment (BKT) … the safe level of formaldehyde in any product is 0.2% and some BKT products can have as much as 2% in them …

People who have tried these BKT products report back of their eyes burning and difficulty breathing while the product is being used … and honestly this freaked me out a little … there was no way I was going to be putting toxic chemicals in my hair … let alone sit there and breath it in at the same time …

So while doing more digging around I learned that a lot of the newer BKT products used these days are formaldehyde free … these don’t straighten your hair … so your not going to come out of this with poker straight hair after you wash it … but it smooths the hairs … relaxes the curls a little … and makes your hair shiny …

I rung the salon and asked what brand of BKT products they used … and then researched this to make sure it was a formaldehyde free option which it was … the brand was Keratin Bliss … I looked at the reviews of this and most of them were positive … some of the more negative reviews were because people complained that they lost their curls which wasn’t something I was too worried about …

In the end I decided to give it a go … the treatment lasts around 4-5 months depending on how well you maintain it and how frequently you wash your hair … so I wasn’t too worried … the actual process is quite time consuming especially for me cause my hair is crazy long again and very thick … I think from start to finish it took about 3.5 hours …

First they wash your hair with a clarifying shampoo … then its rough dried with a blow drier till its about 80% dry … following which they apply the product into your hair … kind of like how they do hair dye … they that sits in your hair for about 20-30 mins … after that the hair is roughly dried again … after this the product is heat sealed into your hair with hair straighteners …

_MG_2863-1This is what activates the keratin treatment and makes it work (this is also the bit where if you had the treatment with formaldehyde that people complain of their eyes and throats burning which didn’t happen to me at all) … following that you have to keep your hair dry and not let it get wet (or wash it) for three days to give it time to work … thankfully living in the desert comes with the perks of very little rain … so that wasn’t much trouble … (above and below are what my hair looked like when I got home from the salon) …

_MG_2856-1 _MG_2853-1As for maintenance of the treatment it is recommended to use a sulphate free shampoo and conditioner to prolong the effects … and you just wash and style your hair as you would otherwise … Below is what it looked like after the first wash … again no product no heat drying … just left it to dry naturally as I did in the first picture …

_MG_3040-1

Its just so much more manageable … the curls are looser but the ones left are better defined as there is less frizz … each time I was my hair though the curls come out a little different which is also fine … and my hair feels really super soft … its much easier to manage and style in the mornings … I can just leave my hair out and not worry about it being a ball of fuzz …

_MG_2872-1 _MG_2874-1

Its actually also made straightening my hair a lot quicker too … not it only takes about 20 mins to my all my hair … previously it would easily be twice as long …

I’m happy with how its worked so far … it hasn’t completely taken away my curls but I like that about it … I’ve always liked curly hair I just couldn’t do anything with mine without spending hours straightening it first and then curling it again … which honestly seemed like a lot of effort …

I’ll be sure to check back in again in a few months and let you know how it holds up after more washes …

In any case if your thinking about trying something like this its worth doing your research and checking with the salon what brand of keratin treatment they use so you can be sure your happy with what they put on your head …

Anyway that is it for this post … if you have any questions let me know in the comments below …

Till next time …

Mina X

5 thoughts on “Brazilian Keratin Treatment … My Experiences …

  1. Wow! I personally like the relaxed curls look on you. If I had thicker hair, I would go for a relaxing treatment. As it is I shed more than the cats combined so I’m lucky that haven’t gone completely bald by now.

    • Hi, yeah I went to the Onyx Fitness and Spa, its on Jumeirah Beach Road. I had a groupon for the treatment so it only cost about 450AED for my length hair. but the salon charges 1000AED and up regularly.

  2. Pingback: London Knits … Knitting Sent Back Home … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

