Weekly Roundup … Crazy Sandstorm & Summer Rain …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetIts been a weird week around here … the weather in particular has been rather strange … we had some bad news … and also an unexpected last minute visitor … so its a little all over the place …

Starting with last weekend we headed to Dubai Mall on Friday morning for breakfast … we decided to be indulgent that morning and went for waffles at Granny’s Waffles near the Waterfall … we’d both had a rough week and needed cheering up … this pretty much did the trick …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetIn the end we shared our waffles and had half and half of each to try them both out … mine was the Nuttella & Banana waffle while Perry went for the Chocolate & Caramel waffle … both tasty … neither of us could finish the food …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

 

The main reason we ended up at the mall was to go get a new vacuum cleaner … our last one was a second hand Dyson we bought shortly after moving to Dubai … it was big … it was heavy … and for some reason it decided to die when we were half way through cleaning under our bed last weekend …

Anyway I did some research online about good hoovers for pet hair … our boys shed like there is no tomorrow so we really wanted something that would handle that with no problem … we also wanted something lighter to lug around (I always ended up with a bad back after using our old one) … and in the end we got the Dyson DC41 Animal …

It came out the best in all the reviews we looked at and even though it was one of the more expensive options we thought it was the best one to go for … the ball technology makes it easier to roll around and it came with a whole bunch of attachments designed to pick up pet fuzz better … and the guy at the store even through in an allergy box of extra attachments for cleaning upholstery and mattresses etc … which is actually perfect!

Honestly I never thought I’d be so excited about a vacuum cleaner but I love it!

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetSunday was an odd day … even from when I left for work in the morning it was clear something was up with the weather … and all day at work it was really dark … a sandstorm was brewing and on its way … by the time I left work it was pretty heavy going … the sandstorm was thick enough that visibility was really impacted on the roads …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetThen out of nowhere and totally unexpected the skies opened up and it started raining … I mean rain in Dubai is rare enough … but I’ve never heard of it raining in the middle of August!!! And this wasn’t even a little drizzle … this was big fat drops of rain that came pouring down for a good 15mins … crazy …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetI had an appointment in Business Bay that afternoon and by the time I got back to the car it was a right state …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetPerry had wanted to get the car cleaned over the weekend … I’m really glad we didn’t bother anymore … having said that I do now need to get it cleaned … although I did go to the mall a couple times on my way home this week to pick up stuff and usually there are lots of car cleaners in the car park just waiting to pounce after you’ve parked up asking if your car needs to be cleaned … I noticed this week that they all kept away from me … I think that says something …

In other news my Auntie Maryam who I wrote about LAST WEEK passed away earlier this week … it was news we were expecting but still upsetting when it actually happens … I spoke to some of my family members after I found out … and we have a group chat set up on Viber with most of my Aunts and Cousins (I have 36 first cousins alone so its a pretty big group chat) where everyone was sharing happy memories they have with Aunt Maryam … and honestly its the best way to remember someone who has passed … by sharing stories and memories with others …

As it happened one of my Cousins, his Daughter was on her way back to Boston and had a one night layover in Dubai … so after a few last minute phone calls she came over to spend the night with me … it was actually really lovely to have her over and have someone to chat to … I hadn’t seen her since the summer of 2006 so it had been a while … but it was great to catch up with her too …

I also ended up having to deal with a leaking AC unit … it was a nightmare … the actual leaky unit wasn’t so much the problem … the real issue was getting someone to come out and fix it … we have a maintenance contract which we pay for monthly and the deal is they guarantee a 2hr emergency call out (never have they actually arrived in 2 hrs) and pretty much everything is covered … so far even though they are a little slow at arriving we have usually been pretty happy with their service … until this time … I called them Wedensday afternoon around 5pm to report the leak … and long story short it wasn’t until after about 10 phone calls … a strongly worded email to the head of the company … and 25 hours later that someone showed up to fix it …

It was just really frustrating because I never really got an answer as to why this happened when they are supposed to guarantee a 2hr call out … atleast in this case it wasn’t that big of an emergency (I just had to turn of the leaky unit to stop the leak until it could be repaired) but its not really the point … we chose to pay for this service with the idea that it is supposed to make our lives easier and less stressful if something goes wrong with the apartment … instead all it did was create a lot of stress and frustration in trying to get it sorted …

This weekend is not going to be a crazy one … I have a knitting meetup on Saturday … which I am determined not to sleep though again … but other than that we don’t have too much else planned for now … just the usual bunch of errands and stuff …

That is it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

