Knitting Adventures … Half A Shawl & Two Cowls …

_MG_2651-1So back with another knitting post … I think I’m going to try and keep Sunday’s as the day I blog about stuff I’ve been knitting … it probably wont be very week all the time but I’ll try to stick with that as a rough plan for now … anyway this time I’m here to talk about a few more things I’ve been making lately … most of these … in fact all of these were done and finished before we left for South Africa I just hadn’t had time to photograph them till now …

_MG_2646-1So this first item is the TRIPLE TRIANGLE CAPE … I liked the design of the leaf pattern on the shawl and the unique design with it being three triangles giving more coverage and a shape more like a cape than a traditional triangular shawl …

_MG_2649-1I read the pattern through and figured I would be able to manage the pattern ok enough … I usually always research the yarn suggested in a pattern to see what weight it is so I can figure out a suitable substitute from my stash because I don’t have the chance to go out and choose from a wide variety of yarn options …

_MG_2651-1Anyway I don’t know what happened but for some reason I got things mixed up this time … the yarn used is actually a sock/fingering weight yarn and I ended up using a worsted weight yarn which is much thicker … so going by the required amount noted in the pattern (2 x 100g balls) I figured I had two and a half balls of this yarn left and thought that would be plenty to finish the pattern off … one reason I didn’t notice anything was off sooner was because I was getting the correct gauge …

_MG_2737-1Well it wasn’t until I was already halfway through my last ball of yarn that I realised my mistake … and by that time I had put so much time into knitting this I didn’t have the heart to rip it all back out … so I decided to do as much of it as I could and ended up getting just over half way …

_MG_2735-1I managed to get 8 out of the 12 repeats done in the pattern but had to do a straight edged bind off as there wasn’t enough yarn left to do the pointy one detailed in the pattern …

_MG_2739-1I am a little annoyed with myself at the error but in the end I’m not going to get too upset over it … its still a useable size and even though its not pictured it can be pinned at the front to hold it in place …

_MG_2657-1The piece actually blocked out quite nicely and the leaf pattern shows up well … maybe one day I’ll go back and try it again with the correct yarn …

_MG_2625-1Next up was this ESQUINA COWL … again the mitred construction of this cowl was what interested me in this pattern …

_MG_2615-1 _MG_2619-1I wanted to use up some of this other variegated worsted yarn I had so I ended up adjusting the needle size to get the correct gauge … and I actually really liked how this one turned out …

_MG_2628-1 _MG_2753-1It was simple enough to knit up and surprisingly didn’t take as long as I’d expected it to take either …

_MG_2755-1

_MG_2630-1Finally for this post is this THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS Cowl … again this was intended to be knit up in a different weight of yarn than I had so I adjusted … I also changed the edging from a rolled stockinette edge to a seed stitch edging …

_MG_2747-1 _MG_2743-1The edging gave a kind of a ruffle top and bottom to the cowl which I quite liked …

_MG_2638-1I was really interested in how the little ‘Sun’ shapes were created in the cowl design and that was the main reason I chose to make this one …_MG_2642-1 _MG_2746-1

 

Its soft and really comfy to wear … I think if I make this again I’ll make the cowl longer so it can wrap around the neck twice and narrower so it won’t curl up as much … but I did really like the pattern …

_MG_2742-1

That is it for this post … I’ll be back next week with another knitting post …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

