Weekly Roundup Time … A Mixed Bag …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIts been a bit of a mixed week this time … the weekend wasn’t too bad … even though we both slept through most of Friday … but made it to the Lime Tree in the late afternoon for some food and yummy coffee … we’ve both been busy with work this week and its been exhausting physically and emotionally too … Advance warning this is wordy post … Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAfter my POST the other day about the stuff I made from the Yarn I picked up in South Africa I finally figured out what to make with the leftovers … I made this small little basket … big enough to hold all the buttons I have for future knit projects … and that successfully used up whatever I had left of that yummy squishy yarn …

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetIts not big … about 12cm long … and sits nicely on my table … Other than that this week has been a bit of an emotionally tough one for me … at the start of the week I found out that my Auntie Maryam who has been suffering from Alzheimer’s for years is not doing too well and the Doctors say she doesn’t have long left … its hard to deal with even though we knew it would happen …

My thoughts have been with my family all week … with my cousins and other members of my Mum’s family who are able to be there in Canada with my Aunt at this time … I wish I could have been there myself … and I feel my Mum’s pain at not being able to go there to say goodbye to her sister in person …

My Aunt Maryam was like a Mother to my Mum … she lost her Mum when she was very young and was raised by her sisters … in particular Maryam … so I can’t even begin to imagine how hard this must be for her at this time …

25679_384719352594_897121_nI will always remember her as being an incredibly bubbly and very active person … when my Mum first had me she sent over so many beautiful knitted outfits that she’d made … and my Mum has kept them all in a suitcase for if I have a little girl one day … my Auntie Maryam is also the one who taught me how to french braid my hair when I was a child … and as sad as all of this is my one comfort is that she is not in pain and is as comfortable as she can be …

This week was made even more emotionally rough with the news of Robin Williams passing away … honestly he was an amazing entertainer and it was so sad to hear that someone who was so effortlessly funny and entertaining was battling such dark demons on the inside … out of all the ‘famous’ people who have passed away over the last few years none of those touched me as much as this one …

Depression is a truly horrid disease that is so hard to understand … probably because it is so personal to each person who goes through it … and its even harder to understand for someone who has never experienced it … I’ve known people in my life who have gone through depression and I’ve seen what it can do … I’ve even seen some of the hurtful things people can say to those who are depressed … although this is never out of actual intent to hurt that person but usually out of a lack of understanding of what depression is and how it affects a person …

Depression has even affected me … its not something that I’ve openly spoken about before and only a handful of people have ever known … I’ve always felt it was something quite personal … simply put I had a tough few months when we first moved to Dubai … although I’m pretty sure there were some early signs of it from way before we moved … even so it took a long time for me to see it …

Actually it wasn’t until Perry sat me down one day and told me he didn’t know what else he could do to help me (he was always very supportive and understanding) and pretty much begged me to go see someone that I realised I couldn’t do this on my own anymore … I didn’t have the worst case of depression ever … in fact it was relatively mild … but I still had moments where it was incredibly crippling … there were days where I just wouldn’t get out of bed or would be sobbing for no real reason … I had wild mood swings … I could go on but I wont … the worst part of all this is that it wasn’t just me suffering but Perry too …

So reading about Robin Williams death and everything he was going through really just took me back to what was essentially a really dark time for me … it reminded me of all those horrible feeling and thoughts that I just want to pretend never happened … and it saddens me to think that someone so universally loved by so many was suffering in this way …

This ARTICLE by Russel Brand and this STATUS update from Jason Manford both really touched me and are worth reading …

I think this weekend is going to involve a good old Robin Williams movie marathon … I can’t think of a better way to remember him that watching some of the amazing movies he was a part of …

With that I think I’m going to end this post here …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “Weekly Roundup Time … A Mixed Bag …

  1. Pingback: Weekly Roundup … Crazy Sandstorm & Summer Rain … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

