Knitting Adventures … An Infinity Scarf, Two Cowls & A Hat … South Africa Yarn …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 presetHey everyone … so you remember all that really yummy Hand-Spun, Hand-Dyed squishy soft yarn I got in South Africa which I posted about LAST WEEK? Yeah well since we got back I’ve made four different things with this yarn and even have a small amount left over … still trying to figure out what I can make with this small ball but once I figure it out I’ll be sure to let you know …

One of the reasons I really liked this yarn is all the colours in it … it pretty much sums up my wardrobe pretty well right there … other than Purple it covers the colours that predominately make up my wardrobe so it will go pretty well with anything I have …

_MG_2609-1It was actually not that difficult to knit with … I used large needles around 10-12mm for all of the projects and the last one I made used size 20mm needles (that was a super fast knit) … the larger needles helped reduce any snagging issues too which was great …

_MG_2582-1So first up I made THIS HAT … actually I ended up making this hat twice … I pretty much knit the whole thing one night whilst on Facetime with Perry … so I wasn’t paying enough attention to the knitting and didn’t realise till I was finished that my gauge was way off and in the end the Hat ended up being too small to fit on my head … so I had to go back and rip it all out and started it over the next day …

_MG_2782-1I ended up adjusting the pattern slightly to suit my gauge and finally made a hat that fits … and I loved how the yarn ended up creating these coloured diagonal stripes … I only noticed it once I’d finished the project but I really like how it turned out …

_MG_2585-1The button on the Hat and the other projects in this post are also from South Africa … the little gift shop at the Safari Lodge we stayed at had these hand made wooden buttons for sale so I picked up a couple packets of these …

_MG_2772-1Next up I made this SUPERB INFINITY SCARF … I liked the pattern on this one as it doesn’t require any Purl Stitches … not that I mind purl stitches I’m just faster and my tension is more even with Knit stitches …

_MG_2598-1It uses the ‘Knit in the stitch Below’ technique to get around the need to use purl stitches which I wasn’t sure about at first but after a few rows I could see how the pattern was shaping up …

_MG_2773-1 _MG_2601-1

Its really soft and wraps comfortably around my neck twice … I actually made it about 4 stitches narrower than the pattern called for and it ended up being about 5cm longer than the pattern … which didn’t really affect the end result too much … and I think I prefer it with the fewer stitches …

_MG_2775-1

 

_MG_2589-1Following that and seeing I still had quite a bit of yarn left over I decided to make this KERCHIEF COWL … the pattern calls for 6.5mm needles which I don’t have so I ended up using 6mm needles … so my cowl ended up a little tighter than the pattern intended … even so its still pretty comfortable to wear around the neck and its nice and snug …

_MG_2757-1

_MG_2594-1The pattern is a nice mix of knit rows and purl rows giving the overall look a bit of interest and stops the cowl from curling at the edges and bottom …

_MG_2596-1Again the button is from the same set as I used for the hat … so it matches …

_MG_2758-1The top triangular flap with the button on it was made using Wrap & Turn short rows which was my first time trying that technique … its quite popular on sock patterns and it turned out not to be too complicated … although I think the bulky yarn made it easier to see and work with the wraps …

_MG_2760-1

Pulled up a little the cowl would work pretty well to keep the face warm and you can even flip up the top flap (I didn’t secure it down) and use it as a nose warmer … and below one of the hat with this cowl … and me being a bit silly …

_MG_2764-1

_MG_2814-1At this point I only had one ball of yarn left so I thought I’d just make this WICKERY COWL … fully expecting this to use up the last of my yarn … but actually I finished this and still have around another 20-25m left … I picked up some 20mm needles over the weekend which this pattern needed and knitted this up in about an hour …

_MG_2819-1I absolutely love this stitch pattern …

_MG_2798-1When I bound off the project I didn’t realise till it was done that the bind off I’d used caused the piece to flare out quite a bit at the bottom … in the end this turned out not to be such a bad thing and it fits nicely around the neck with the flare making for a better fit …

_MG_2822-1Again the same buttons as used in the projects above …

_MG_2825-1Perry helped me out at the weekend by taking the pictures of me wearing the items I’ve made for this post and a couple more I have lined up … but I finished off this last Cowl with the buttons on Sunday so had to take the photos myself so apologies for the crappy mirror picture …

So this is what I made from my South Africa yarn and buttons … I’m still amazed I managed to make all four of these out of 350m of yarn and still have some left over … any one have ideas for what I can make with 20-25m of bulky yarn?

That is it for now …

Till next time …

Mina X

P.S. sorry this ended up being much more wordy than I’d originally intended … and I realise that writing this isn’t helping matters either …

3 thoughts on “Knitting Adventures … An Infinity Scarf, Two Cowls & A Hat … South Africa Yarn …

  1. ‘Fess up! You have little elves that help you knit all these things. You are so quick! And everything you make is wearable and practical (just not in Dubai haha!). Gorgeous. See you next week!

    • HAHA … I wish … I just have a husband who is working in Saudi most of the week so I end up with quite a few hours to just knit in the evenings when I can’t be bothered to do housework or anything else … plus bulky yarn works up quick! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weekly Roundup Time … A Mixed Bag … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

