Weekly Roundup Time … Getting Back On Track …

To say that this week has been manic wouldn’t even begin to cover it … honestly I’ve been running around all week like a headless chicken getting things sorted for work … as a result I haven’t been in the office that much and my pile of things to do has just grown … I haven’t really had a chance to catch up on everything from last week when we were away … which is stressing me out a little … nothing major and I know I’ll get to it eventually I just don’t like leaving things unfinished …

Life gets a little messy sometimes and its ok … I’m trying to not let it get to me and am shuffling my to do list around as I progress depending on what needs to be done first as a priority rather than getting all the easy things out the way (which is usually what I do first) … there is a certain level of satisfaction to just be able to cross things off a list … or is that just me?

Other than work being crazy things at home have been a bit calmer thankfully … other than the never ending amount of laundry I ended up doing this week … I’m not even sure how we had so much to wash because there is just the two of us and we only took hand luggage to SA yet I still ended up having to do 6 loads this week … it makes no sense!

One thing I should mention here … I already noted before we left that I wasn’t going to take any knitting with me to South Africa as we were only taking hand luggage and I didn’t have the space for it … so on our second day there Perry suggested going to this Craft place near a mall we were at for dinner … I’d looked it up online  before and turns out it was more like a craft shop that sold locally made crafts rather than craft supplies … so I wasn’t expecting to find yarn …

I was wrong … so so wrong … Perry actually noticed it first … I just thought it was store selling knitted stuff … then Perry turned round and said “oh look theres a ball of yarn” or something along those lines … next thing you know I’m inside this little store and drooling over all the yarn on offer …

They had so many different types of yarn that I would have loved to have tried … and the prices were incredibly reasonable considering they were all either hand-spun yarns, hand-dyed or both … I ended up being rather controlled in this situation and only bought 13 balls of yarn … I may have also bought a pair of needles … and I may have actually knit a scarf while we were driving across South Africa too … so my whole “I’m not going to do any knitting on this holiday” statement went out the window on day 2!

I blame Perry as it was his idea in the first place to go into that craft place … although I’m not complaining … one of the yarns I got was this really lovely soft Merino chunky wool … its hand-spun and hand-dyed … its one of those thick and thin type of yarns which I have never had a chance to work with yet …

Processed with VSCOcam with a6 preset

I just loved the mix of colours too … it was the first thing that popped out at me and so I just went with it … its the first time I’ve worked with a thick&thin yarn or even hand-spun or hand-dyed yarn … so a bunch of firsts for me on this one … and of course all the wool is sourced locally …

One of the things I did this week was to ball up the yarn … you can’t really work with it off the hank like it is above cause it turns into a knotted mess … so after some time balling them up and trying to stop Hugo attacks … i ended up with this …

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’ve already made a Hat with one ball and am working on a scarf … if I have enough left over I’ll make something else but I haven’t decided on what yet … I also picked up some really soft and yummy looking sock yarn … again because it was a thickness of yarn I hadn’t worked with before and is perfect for lacy shawls … I’d found some pretty patterns I wanted to try and didn’t have the right yarn so I went with some of that … so I was quite restrained in what I got and only bought stuff that I didn’t have and hadn’t worked with before … I only wished we’d taken a suitcase so I could have bought more … 😛

Last Saturday was so lovely … for some reason I had gotten things mixed up in my head before we went away and thought we were getting back on Saturday evening … I had even booked the pet sitter for an extra day … then a couple days before we were coming home I double checked out flights and realised we landed back at 6am on Saturday … which was an amazing realisation that we had a day at home to recoup and get ourselves sorted before the rush of work …

As it turned out Saturday was amazingly relaxed … well it started with both of us diving head first into bed and sleeping for 4.5hrs as soon as we got home … then just getting out stuff unpacked … (and repacked for Perry) … lounging on the sofa and snuggling with the Kittens … we even made an effort to go out and went to see the new Transformers movie at the cinema …

I’ve already covered what happened this week … but Perry was supposed to come home last night … but ended up having to stay an extra day for some meeting … cue sad face … it was odd cause last night I was at home and for about a couple hours around the time he would normally get home on a Wednesday I kept thinking he would walk through the door … but its ok cause he’s coming home tonight … so that’s all good …

As for this weekend I have the next knitting meetup tomorrow … which I’m really looking forward too … and then Perry and I have a bunch of rather not to exciting things to sort out … but more than anything I’m just looking forward to unwinding a little …

That is it for this week …

Till next time …

Mina X

2 thoughts on “Weekly Roundup Time … Getting Back On Track …

  1. Pingback: Monday Links for the Week … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

  2. Pingback: Knitting Adventures … An Infinity Scarf, Two Cowls & A Hat … South Africa Yarn … | Our Adventures In The Middle East

Leave a Reply

