South Africa – Cape Town … Signal Hill & Dinner …

Cape Town Pano 1Hey everyone … so this is going to be the first of several posts from our South Africa trip … one of the best things I did on this trip was to take my personal laptop with me this time rather than my work laptop … while I still had to do some work while we were away I already knew it wasn’t anything I wouldn’t be able to do on my personal laptop … and the payoff was I could edit my pictures as the trip progressed …

At the end of each day I’d back up my pictures onto my laptop and external hard drive and whenever we had some down time in the evenings or watching a movie I’d browse the pictures, narrow down the selection and start on the editing … I was also able to get some editing done in the car while we were on the road too … all in all it basically meant by the time we got back to Dubai all my photos from the trip were already edited and ready to go … such a time saver and meant I can start doing my posts about the trip sooner …

_MG_8212-1 _MG_8213-1So back to this post … we took an overnight flight to Cape Town and for the first time Perry and I both took something to help us sleep on the plane … not a sleeping pill but a single dose of an evening cold and flu medication … mainly because it contains anti-histamines which make you drowsy … that combined with a 4am flight and no sleep prior meant we both slept for a good chunk of the flight … not great sleep mind but at least we got some rest and both of us were surprised by how much energy we had once we landed … I’ve gotten off some overnight flights in the past where I’ve just been walking round in a daze for the rest of the day or needed a long nap to recover …

We picked up our hire car and as a last minute decision we decided to pay the little bit extra and get the Sat Nav … looking back at this decision we could have easily done without it … even so I’m glad we did it … it made things easier and there was less stress with the navigating … it meant we could enjoy the drives and views without worrying about missing our exit or turning …

_MG_8219-1

(views from our room above and below)

_MG_8223-1We checked into the hotel and took a couple hours to get settled in and relax before heading out again … the original plan had been to go up Table Mountain that afternoon to watch the sunset … but it was closed due to bad weather … and looking out at it you could see it was covered in clouds … (otherwise known as the table cloth) … so we decided to go up the nearby Signal Hill … which offered great views of the city … Table Mountain … Lions Head (another peak) and the Atlantic Ocean …

_MG_8271-1 _MG_8277-1 _MG_8283-1So we layered up (I pretty much wore everything warm I brought with me) and headed out … we stopped about halfway up to get out and take some pictures … at this point I quickly realised I’d underestimated how cold it was going to be in South Africa … and immediately regretted not packing more hats and a jacket!

_MG_8285-1 _MG_8289-1 _MG_8301-1

View on the road leading to the top …

_MG_8317-1

That is Robben Island behind my shoulder in the picture above …

_MG_8327-1 _MG_8330-1We got to the top and got out to take more pictures … I had trouble standing still long enough for them and kept trying to jump up and down to keep warm … it wasn’t so much the cold that was getting to me but the wind …

_MG_8332-1 _MG_8335-1 _MG_8337-1That peak on the right is Lions Head …

_MG_8340-1 _MG_8347-1Table Mountain above covered in Clouds …

_MG_8359-1The views were stunning and it was a great way to get our bearings to look down at the city from above … even though it was a rather cloudy/grey afternoon …

_MG_8370-1 _MG_8380-1 _MG_8387-1 _MG_8404-1 _MG_8415-1I have a similar picture of Perry from our trip to Guernsey sat on a bench on a cliff …

_MG_8423-1 _MG_8451-1 _MG_8442-1 _MG_8440-1 _MG_8491-1

_MG_8494-1 _MG_8506-1 _MG_8520-1Eventually the cold got a little too much for us (mostly me) and it was getting dark so we started making out way back down … we stopped quickly once more and I managed to get this panorama shot of Table Mountain with Cape Town below … and a rather ominous grey cloud … Click the image to see it larger …

Cape Town Pano 1We got back to the hotel and freshened up … got changed and headed out again for dinner … Perry had found a steakhouse in the nearby V&A Waterfront Centre … which is a marina type development with shops and restaurants etc … so we headed there and with a bit of time to kill before dinner we stopped at an outdoor store … I ended up walking out with a new Jacket … honestly it was probably the best thing I did on this trip and it was on sale so I didn’t feel too bad about it …

20140725_191541_LLS-1 20140725_191626_LLS-1 20140725_193006_LLS-1We ended up eating at the Steakhouse Balthazar … which was lovely … the food was delicious … service was great and the Sommelier was really helpful and picked out a great wine to go with our meal … I’m not usually a fan of red wine but we ended up with a really lovely one which wasn’t too strong …

20140725_192331_LLS-1 20140725_194008_LLS-1It was really lovely food … and a great start to our trip … another reason I really liked this wine and actually all the others we had while we were in South Africa is it didn’t leave us with any after effects the next day … one of the reasons I don’t like wine so much (and more so Red wine than any other) is it usually gives me a headache after … and it doesn’t make a difference if I’ve just had one or three glasses …

Anyway this has ended up being a much wordier post than I had planned … so I will leave it here for now …

I’ll be back tomorrow with some more pictures and words …

Till next time …

Mina X

One thought on “South Africa – Cape Town … Signal Hill & Dinner …

Leave a Reply

