Autumn Lace Cowl … Free Knitting Pattern …

_MG_7895-1I am actually really excited about this post … cause its the first thing I’ve knit where I actually somewhat designed the pattern myself … its a pretty simple pattern for a small snug cowl scarf … its easily adaptable to make it bigger (by adding more stitches) or taller/wider (by adding more rows) …

Anyway I though’t I’d share a little about it first and then the pattern is further down for you to use and enjoy … if you do happen to make it I’d love to see a picture … so you can send me a link to it in the comments …

_MG_7892-1I was messing around with different knit stitches and came up with this pattern randomly … it kind of looks like a series of columns with lacy gaps between them …

_MG_7979-1The stockinette portions at the top and bottom give it a little curl which I quite like in this cowl but you can always use a rib pattern if you’d prefer …

_MG_7902-1Also I love the variegation and colours in this yarn … really pretty and remind me of Autumn leaves … so that is kind of where the name came from …

So here is the pattern …

AUTUMN LACE COWL

Yarn – Worsted Yarn (I ended up using around 100m approx 50g of the yarn I used)

Needles – 5mm circulars (40cm/16inch)

Gauge is 4.5 stitches per inch

  • Start by Casting On 100 Stitches (or as many as you want in multiples of 4)
  • Place marker and join in the round
  • Knit 4 rounds

Pattern Repeat:

  1. *SSK, YO, K2* – Repeat from * to * for the rest of the round
  2. Knit all stitches
  3. *K2Tog, YO, K2* – Repeat from * to * for the rest of the round
  4. Knit all stitches
  5. *K1, YO, SSK, K1* – Repeat from * to * for the rest of the round
  6. Knit all stitches
  7. *K2, YO, SSK* – Repeat from * to * for the rest of the round
  8. Knit all stitches
  • Repeat rounds 1-8 a total of 5 times (or more if you’d like)
  • Knit 4 rounds
  • Bind off using a stretchy bind off (I like to use the K2Tog bind off)

Then all you have left to do is weave in your ends and enjoy … you can block it if you’d like but I like’d it fine how it was …

Glossary for the stitches:

– K – Knit

– K2Tog – Knit 2 together

– SSK – Slip two stitches as if to knit individually, then slip left needle into the front of the slipped stitches on the right needle and knit through the back loop (you can loop up videos that explain it better on You Tube)

– YO – Yarn Over

That is it for this post …

Till next time …

Mina X

Leave a Reply

